Atomic Energy Agency Conference

THE magnificent Hofburg, the former imperial palace of the Hapsburgs, recently renovated and prepared for conference work by the Austrian Government, was the scene of the second session of the General Conference of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) which was held in Vienna from September 22 to October 4, 1958.

In the interval between the first Conference* and the opening of the second, ten countries had joined the Agency, bringing the total to 68, all but four of which were represented. Two non-member states and the United Nations were represented by observers. A number of inter-governmental and non-governmental international organizations were similarly represented, as were the International Labour Organization, the Food and Agriculture Organization, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, the World Health Organization, the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the International Civil Aviation Organization and the World Meteorological Organization.

Canada was represented by Mr. M. H. Wershof, Q.C., Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the European Office of the United Nations in Geneva, with Mr. J. L. Gray, President of Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, and Mr. W. H. Barton and Mr. R. H. Jay, of the Department of External Affairs, as alternates. The Conference was formally opened by the temporary President, Mr. Raab, the Federal Chancellor of Austria, who welcomed the delegates. At the opening session the Conference heard statements by Mr. de Seynes, representative of the Secretary-General of the UN, and by Mr. Sterling Cole, the Director-General of the Agency.

Mr. Sudjarwo, the Secretary-General of the Indonesian Foreign Office, was unanimously elected President of the Conference. The Canadian representative, Mr. Wershof, was elected one of the Conference Vice-Presidents and as such was a member of the General (Steering) Committee. The statute of the Agency provides for a twenty-three member Board of Governors, thirteen of which are named by the retiring Board with the remaining ten being elected by the Conference for a two-year term, half of these in alternate years. The five members elected at the second Conference were the Netherlands, the United Arab Republic, Indonesia, Venezuela and Peru. Canada continues to be a member as one of those countries appointed by the retiring Board.

The general debate shared with the programme and budget debate the position of primary importance at the Conference. The former offers the Board of Governors, the Secretariat and, in fact, the member states, guidance on future programmes and activities, giving as it does an indication of the emphasis (or lack of it) which the various delegations wish to be placed on the various projects. The latter outlines the programme for the ensuing year and provides the money to finance it.

^{*}For report on the First General Conference see Vol. 9, No. 12 of "External Affairs" (Dec. 1957).