APPENDIX.

The Tribunal of Arbitration was constituted as follows:

H. E. the Baron Alphonse de Courcel, Senator of France, nominated by France: President.

H. E. the Marquis E. Visconti Venosta, Senator of Italy, nominated by Italy.

H. E. Monsieur Gregers Gram, Minister of State of Sweden and Norway, nominated by Sweden and Norway.

The Right Hon. Lord Hannen, Lord of Appeal; and the Hon. Sir John Thompson, K. C. M. G., Prime Minister of the Dominion of Canada, nominated by Great Britain.

The Hon. John M. Harlan, Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States ; and

The Hon. John T. Morgan, Senator of the United States, nominated by the United States.

The Agents were :

The Hon. Charles H. Tupper, (now Sir Charles Hibbert Tupper, K. C. M. G.,) Minister of Marine and Fisheries of the Dominion of Canada, on behalf of the Government of Great Britain.

The Hon. John W. Foster, on behalf of the Government of the United States.

The British Behring Sea Commissioners were :

Sir George Baden-Powell, K. C. M. G., M. P., Dr. George Dawson, C. M. G.

United States Behring Sea Commissioners were ; Mr. Thomas C. Mendenhall, Mr. C. Hart Merriam.

68