The following officers were elected for 1909: President, John F. Orde, K.C.; Vice-President, C. J. R. Bethune; Secretary, Ainslie W. Greene; Treasurer, M. G. Powell; Trustees, W. D. Hogg, K.C., F. H. Chrysler, K.C., M. J. Gorman, K.C., Geo. F. Henderson, K.C., and Alfred E. Fripp, K.C. Auditors, R. J. Sims and E. F. Burritt.

Bench and Bar.

APPOINTMENTS.

George Smith, of the Town of Woodstock, Ontario, Barristerat-law, to be Junior Judge of the County Court of the County of Essex, in the room and stead of Charles Julius Mickle, resigned. (Jan. 14.)

Arthur Henry O'Brien, Esq., M.A., Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel of the House of Commons of Canada, to be a Commissioner per dedimus potestatem to administer the oath of allegiance to members of the House of Commons of Canada.

Practice.

RULES OF COURT.

The new general rules and orders of the Exchequer Court of Canada bearing date January 11, 1909, appear in the Canada Gazette, and being signed by W. G. P. Cassels, Judge of the Exchequer Court, may be assumed are full and complete. They are 327 in number.

LAND TITLES ACT-ONTARIO.

The following memorandum has been issued by the Master of Titles at Toronto, and bears date Nov. 18, 1908:—

"In view of the prevailing and increasing tendency to incorporate business and manufacturing firms, and of the large number of small corporations which now exist, it has been deemed advisable to pass a rule prescribing the evidence required for the registration, in the Land Titles Offices, of con-