CHURCH SOCIETY.

ANNUAL MEETING ON 9TH JANUARY, 1856.

The Annual Meeting of the Church Society, being its Fourteenth Anniversary, was held on the evening of Wednesday, January 9th, 1856, in the Lecture Hall, Anne Street, at 7 o'clock, Divine Service having been previously celebrated at All-Saints Chapel.

The Lord Bishop having taken the Chair, the prayers appointed for such occasions were read, when, after some introductory observations had been delivered by His Lordship, the Secretary was called upon to read the

Report for the preceding year, which having been done,

-It was moved by the Hon. Judge Badgley, seconded by the Revd.

E. C. Parkin, and

Resolved,-That the Report now read be received and adopted, and printed under the direction of the Board.

2.-It was moved by the Revd. C. L. F. Haensel, seconded by R. Hamil-

ton, Esq, and

Resolved,-That this meeting devoutly recognizes the good hand of God in whatever of success attended the labours of the Society during the past year. 3-It was moved by the Honorable Wm. Walker, seconded by the

Revol. J. Carry, and
Resolved,—That the thanks of the Society are due, and are hereby tendered, to the Clergymen, who, by commuting their individual claims upon the Clergy Reserves Fund, have enabled it to found a small permanent Endowment for the Church in this Diocese; and that the Society trusts that the liberal spirit thus evinced on the part of the Clergy may provoke a corresponding spirit on the part of the Lay members of the

4.—It was moved by J. Maclaren, Esq., seconded by the Revd. H. Roc. and Resolved,-That this meeting renews the assurance of undiminished intorest in the labors of the Sister Societies in British North America.

5.—It was moved by the Rev. A. W. Mountain, seconded by Lieut. Ashe, R. N., and

Resolved,-That the following gentlemen be elected Life-Members of the Society: Hon, John Ross, Hon. Francis Hincks, Thomas Benson, Esq.

G. W. Usborne, Esq.

That the following persons be elected members of the Corporation: Jas. Johnston, Thos. Wood, Mrs. Wood, Hon. Mr. Justice Budgley, Revd. A. J. Woodrich, Revd. C. P. Emery, John Giles, Henry W. Welch, Revd. Professor Thompson, Mrs. H. Roe, Richard Owen, Richard Peniston, W. D. Campbell, M. H. Warren, B. Daikers, John Bayle, Revd. J. H. Jeukins, Thos. Blatherwick, M. D., H. S. Anderson, Richard Pentland, Geo C. Scott, Joseph Magill, Mrs. Doyle, Jas. Haslett, Miss O'Conner, E. B. Scott, Alex. Hall, W. Higginson, John Lambie.

That the following gentlemen be elected Vice-Presidents of the Society for the current year: Hon. Mr. Chief Justice Bowen. Hon. Mr Justice Meredith, Hon. H. Black, Hon. Mr. Justice Badgley, Hon. J. M. Fraser, Hon. Ed. Hale, Senr., Hon. Ed. Hale, Junr., Hon. George Pemberton, Hon. J. Stewart, Hon. W. Walker, Revd. Official Mackie, D. D., Revd. S. S. Wood, Revd. J. H. Nicolls, and such Chairmen of District Associations as are

Members of the Corporation.

And that the following gentlemen do compose the Central Board, in addition to the ex-officio members: Revd. R. A. Carden, Revd. A. W. Mountain, Revd. D. Robertson, Revd. H. Roc. Revd. Professor Thompson, Lieut. Ashe, R. N. A. Campbell, Esq., Thomas Cary, Esq. J. B. Forsyth, Esq., R. Hamilton, Esq., H. N. Jones, Esq., H. LeMesurier, Esq., James Maclaren, Esq., A. G. Maxham, Esq., C. N. Montizambert Esq., E. Poston, Esq., H. S. Scott, Esq., James. Sealey, Esq., James. A. Sewell, Esq., M. D. Maxfield Sheppard, Esq., J. Von Exter, Esq., W. G. Wurtele, Esq., D. D. Young, Esquire.