time to time, fix the rates at which any foreign gold coins of the description, date, weight and fineness, mentioned in such Proclamation, shall pass current in Canada.

7. Resolved, That it is expedient that all Acts or Laws inconsistent with the foregoing Resolutions be repealed, and that one Act for giving effect to the same, and applying to all Canada, be passed.

A Resolution, "That a Supply be granted to Her Majesty,"—passed in Committee of the Whole on Friday last, was reported and agreed to.

On motion of Hon. Sir Francis Hincks, The House resolved to go into Committee on Friday next, to consider of the Supply granted to Her Majesty.

The Bill (No. 7) to amend the Census Act was read the second time, and committed to a Committee of the Whole on Friday next.

Hon. Mr. Morris laid before the House, by command of His Excellency, Report, Returns, and Statistics of the Inland Revenues of the Dominion of Canada, for the fiscal year ending 30th June, 1870.

The House resumed the further consideration of Mr. Blake's motion for an Address to His Excellency, for copies of all correspondence between the Canadian and Quebec Governments, and the Canadian and Ontario Governments, touching the provincial arbitration and award; and a copy of the award, and an approximate statement of the result of the accounts, as between Canada and each Province, on the first day of February, 1871, adjusted on the footing of the award.

And of Mr. Godin's amendment thereto, that all the words after "and a copy of the award" be expunged from the proposed Address, viz, "and an approximate statement of the result of the accounts, as between Canada and each Province on the first day of February, 1871, adjusted on the footing of the award."

And of Mr. Fournier's amendment to the said proposed amendment, to add to the said proposed amendment the words, "and that the following words be substituted instead thereof:—'and representing to His Excellency, "that in the opinion of this House, the question relative to the division of the debt between the Provinces of "'Ontario and Quebec, having been submitted to and adjudicated upon by two Arbitrators only,—one appointed "by the Dominion Government, and the other by the Government of Ontario, -in the absence of the Arbitrator "'appointed by the Government of Quebec, their award is not binding on the respective Provinces."

And the question being put on the last mentioned amendment, and a Debate arising thereupon, the said

amendment was, with leave of the House, withdrawn.

The question being then put on Mr. Godin's amendment, and a Debate arising thereon, the said Debate was, on motion of Mr. Blake, adjourned.

The Bill (No. 3) to facilitate the establishment of Institutions of Landed Credit (Crédit Foncier) was read the second time, and referred to the Select Standing Committee on Banking and Commerce.

Mr. Cartwright moved that the Bill (No. 4) for the better protection of Navigable Streams and Rivers be read the second time,—which was agreed to on a division.

The Bill was accordingly read the second time, and referred to thee Select Standing Committee on Banking

and Commerce.

Mr. Mills moved, that the Bill (No. 5) to render Members of the Legislative Councils and Legislative Assemblies of the Provinces now included, or which may hereafter be included, in the Dominion of Canada, ineligible for sitting or voting in the House of Commons of Canada, be now read the second time.

Mr. Drew moved in amendment, that the Bill be read a second time this day six months; which was agreed

to on the following division :-

Yeas:

Messrs. Ault, Beaty, Bellerose, Bertrand, Blanchet, Bowell, Bown, Burton, Cameron (Peel), Caron, Cartier (Sir George E.), Cartwright, Cayley, Chauveau, Cimon, Colby, Crawford (Brockville), Crawford (Leeds), Dobbie, Drew, Dufresne, Dunkin, Ferguson, Fortin, Galt (Sir Alexander T.), Gaucher, Gendron, Gibbs, Grant, Gray, Grover, Harrison, Heath, Holmes, Howe, Irvine, Jackson, Jones (Leeds and Grenville), Keeler, Lacerte, Langevin, Lapum, Lawson, Little, McDonald (Middlesex), Masson (Terrebonne), McCallum, McDougall (Lanark), McDougall (Three Rivers), McKeagney, Moffatt, Morris, Morrison (Niagara), Munroe, Perry, Pinsonneault, Pope, Pouliot, Renaud, Robitaille, Ryan (Montreal West), Shanly, Simard, Simpson, Stephenson, Street, Sylvain, Tilley, Tourangeau, Tupper, Walsh, Webb, Willson, and Wright (Ottawa County).—74.

Nays:

Messrs. Anglin, Barthe, Béchard, Blake, Bodwell, Bolton, Bourassa, Bowman, Burpee, Cameron (Huron), Carmichael, Cheval, Coffin, Connell, Costigan, Coupal, Delorme, Ferris, Forbes, Fortier, Fournier, Godin, Hagar, Holton, Kempt, MacFarlane, Magill, McConkey, McDougall (Renfrew), McMonies, Mills, Morison (Victoria, O.), Oliver, Pâquet, Pearson, Pelletier, Redford, Ross) Dundas), Ross (Prince Edward), Ross (Victoria, N. S.), Ross (Wellington, C. R.) Rymal, Scatcherd, Scriver, Smith, Snider, Stirton, Thompson (Haldimand), Thompson (Ontario), Wallace, Wells, Workman, Wright (York, Ontario, W. R.), and Young.—54.

The House then adjourned.

JAMES COCKBURN,

Spealer.