## Associated States

Within the Commonwealth, the term "associated state" means a country that has attained full internal self-government and has formally assumed a status of association with one of the larger independent members, which becomes responsible for its external affairs and defence. The association is a free and voluntary one, terminable by either country at any time. In the Caribbean region, Antigua, St. Christopher-Nevis-Anguilla, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and Grenada are in association with Britain, which retains ultimate responsibility for their external relations and defence. The six countries are known as the West Indies Associated States (WIAS) and by agreement with Britain exercise delegated authority over a wide area of external relations. The Cook Islands in the South Pacific also enjoy full internal self-government, but have chosen to be associated with New Zealand.

2

## Dependent Territories

In Commonwealth terminology, the phrase "dependent territories" includes some 33 remaining colonies, protectorates, protected states and trust territories. Most of these are dependencies of Britain; a few are dependent on Australia or New Zealand. Australia also administers New Guinea as a United Nations trust territory.(2)

## Evolution of the Commonwealth

The Commonwealth evolved from the British Empire by a gradual process that began in the nineteenth century. Many important developments first occurred in relation to what is now Canada. While there are many possible startingpoints. a convenient one is Lord Durham's Report, published in 1839 following an inquiry into the causes of the rebellions in Upper and Lower Canada in 1836-37. One of Lord Durham's key recommendations was that full selfgovernment should be granted to the governments in the colonies in all matters of concern to them. Under the recommendations of the Report, authority was reserved to the Imperial Government only in those fields deemed necessary to maintain imperial unity; such functions included control of foreign relations, the regulation of commerce, the determination of the constitution and the disposal of public lands. All other powers and functions, including the expenditure of public funds, were to be transferred to the colonial governments, to be administered by an executive council responsible to the elected legislative assembly and exercised only so long as they retained the support of a majority in the assembly. Following the Union of Upper and Lower Canada in 1840, this recommendation was implemented by stages during the Forties, the testing-point being the acceptance of the Rebellion Losses Bill in 1849 by Lord Elgin and by the British Government, thus effectively establishing the practice of full responsible self-government over the very wide range of matters within the control of the governments in the colonies. Subsequently, the conception

<sup>(2)</sup> A list of the more important remaining dependencies, showing their relationship to a metropolitan power, area and population, appears as Appendix B.