The convention which established WMO came into force on March 23, 1950, and the Organization became a Specialized Agency of the United Nations on December 20, 1951. The purposes of the Organization are to facilitate co-operation among meteorological services; to promote the establishment and maintenance of telecommunication systems for the rapid exchange of weather information; to promote standardization of meteorological observations and to ensure the uniform publication of observations and statistics; to further the application of meteorology in various fields including aviation, shipping and agriculture, and to encourage and assist in co-ordinating the international aspects of research and training in meteorology.

These activities are implemented by a Congress, the supreme organ of the WMO on which the Director of Meteorological Services of each of the 79 member states is represented. The Congress, which meets every four years, held its third session in April, 1959. Between sessions the affairs of the Organization are managed by the Executive Committee (consisting of 15 Directors of Meteorological Services) on which Canada is represented. There are also eight technical commissions covering the main fields of modern meteorology and six regional associations. Dr. Andrew Thomson, Director of Canada's meteorological service, following his resignation as President of Regional Association IV (North and Central America) was requested by WMO to continue as a member of the Executive Committee on a personal basis. He did so until his retirement as Director in September, 1959.

During 1959, the Commission for Aeronautical Meteorology held a joint meeting in Montreal with the Division of Meteorology of ICAO to discuss current problems of the provision of weather services for aviation, in particular the special problems arising from the increase in jet aircraft usage. The Congress established a Commission on Hydrological Meteorology at its meeting in April.

With Dr. Thomson's resignation as Director of the Canadian Meteorological Service in September, Mr. P. D. McTaggart-Cowan, the new Director, was appointed as the Permanent Representative for Canada to WMO.

## The International Atomic Energy Agency

The International Atomic Energy Agency came into existence on July 29, 1957, when its statute had been ratified by 26 signatory governments. The first proposal for its establishment had been made by the President of the United States to the United Nations General Assembly on December 8, 1953 and was unanimously endorsed by the Assembly. Canada served on the various preparatory bodies which worked to set up the Agency and together with France, the United Kingdom, the United States and the U.S.S.R. serves on the Board of Governors as one of the countries "most advanced in the technical aspects of atomic energy including the production of source materials."

The headquarters of the Agency is in Vienna, where the third annual general conference was held September 22-October 2, 1959. The 23-member Board of Governors met four times during the year, also in Vienna.

Seventy countries from all regions of the world and in all stages of economic and technological development are now members of the Agency the basic objective of which, as set out in the statute, is to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health and prosperity throughout the world. The Agency's work in pursuit of its objective falls into five main categories: technical assistance; distribution of information; supply of materials and equipment; research and scientific services; and regulatory activities.