Wade," and insert in lieu thereof, "Henry William Lobban."

The House divided on the motion of amendment:—

YEAS:

Hon. Mr. Palmer, Hon. Mr. Haviland, Hon. Mr. Longworth, Hon. Mr. Montgomery, Mr. Yeo,

Hr. H. Haviland,

Mr. Douse.

NAYS:

Mr. Perry, Mr. Macgill, Mr. Dingwell, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Laird, Mr. Muirhead, Mr. Munro, Mr. Macintosh, Hon. Mr. Wightman, Mr. Macdonald,

Hon. Mr. Lord.

So it passed in the negative.

The question being then put on the main mo-

The House again divided:

YEAS:

Mr. Macdonald, . Mr. Macgill, Mr. Dingwell, Mr. Perry, Mr. Muirhead, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Macintosh, Mr. Laird, Mr. Munro. Hon. Mr. Lord,

Hon. Mr. Wightman,

NAYS:

Hon. Mr. Haviland, Hon. Mr. Palmer, Hon. Mr. Longworth, Hon. Mr. Montgomery, Mr. Haviland, Mr. Yeo. Mr. Douse,

So it was carried in the affirmative.

Mr. Laird then moved that Mr. Richard Walsh be the Messenger of the House.

The Hon. Mr. Longworth moved in amendment to leave out the words "Richard Walsh," and substitute therefor "Thomas Pleadwell."

The House divided on the motion of amendment:—

YEAS:

Hon. Mr. Palmer, Hon. Mr. Haviland, Hon. Mr. Longworth, Hon. Mr. Montgomery, Mr. Haviland, Mr. Yeo.

Mr. Douse,

· NAYS:

Mr. Macgill, Mr. Macdonald, Mr.-Dingwell, Mr. Perry, Mr. Muirhead, Mr. Cooper, Mr. Macintosh, Mr. Laird, Hon. Mr. Lord, Mr. Munro. Hon. Mr. Wightman,

So it passed in the negative.

The question being then put on the main motion, the House again divided:

Yeas: 11.

Nays: 7.

So it was carried in the affirmative.

Mr. Macgill moved that Mr. Ninian Patterson be appointed Doorkeeper.

Mr. H. Haviland moved in amendment to the motion to leave out the words, "Ninian Patterson" and substitute therefor, "William Birch."

The House divided on the motion of amend-, ment : ---

YEAS:

Mr. H. Haviland, Hon. Mr. Longworth, Mr. Yeo, Hon. Mr. Palmer, Mr. Douse, Hon. Mr. Montgomery. Hon. Mr. Haviland,

NAYS:

Mr. Cooper, Hon. Mr. Lord, Hon. Mr. Wightman, Mr. Perry, Mr. Macgill, Mr. Munro, Mr. Dingwell, Mr. Macdonald, Mr. Laird, Mr. Muirhead. Mr. Macintosh,

So it passed in the negative.

The question being then put on the main motion, it was carried in the affirmative.

Resolved, That a Committee of seven Members be appointed to prepare and report, with all convenient speed, the draft of an Address in answer to the Speech of His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, delivered this day, to both Houses of the Legislature.

Ordered, That Mr. Cooper, Mr. Macgill, Mr. Munro, Mr. Perry, Mr. Macdonald, Mr. Laird, and Mr. Macintosh, do compose the said Committee.

Resolved, That a Committee be appointed, on the part of this House, to join a Committee of the Legislative Council, to take charge of the Legislative Library.

Ordered, That Mr. H. Haviland, Hon. Mr. Longworth, Hon. Mr. Palmer, Hon. Mr. Wightman, Mr. Yeo and Mr. Dingwell, do compose the said Committee.

Ordered, That the said Resolution be communicated by Message to the Legislative Council.

Ordered, That Mr. H. Haviland do carry the said Message to the Council.