vehicles), machinery and plant for water supply, which may be required by the Commission for the direct purposes of constructing, maintaining, repairing, or carrying out replacements in, the Commonwealth cemetery and also (subject to such conditions as the competent Japanese authorities may consider necessary as a safeguard against the introduction of disease) trees, shrubs, plants, seeds and bulbs required for the horticultural embellishment or maintenance of the said cemetery. However, the Commission shall take such measures as are necessary to ensure that the items which have been exempted from customs or import dues are not disposed of in Japanese territory without the prior consent of the competent Japanese authorities.

(2) The Government of Japan agrees that in any particular case under the preceding paragraph a certificate signed by the Secretary-General of the Joint Committee to the effect that the importation is being made for the purposes as provided for in the preceding paragraph shall be accepted by the authorities as sufficient evidence to that effect.

ARTICLE 9

Details of the manner in which effect will be given to the present Agreement shall be agreed upon by consultation between the Japanese authorities and the Commission representing the Commonwealth Countries.

ARTICLE 10

The present Agreement shall enter into force one month after the date of receipt by the Government of Australia, representing the Commonwealth Countries, of a note of acceptance from the Government of Japan.*

In witness whereof the undersigned, duly authorized to that effect, have signed the present Agreement.

Done at Tokyo on the twenty-first day of September, 1955 in the Japanese and English languages, both texts being equally authentic, in a single copy which shall be deposited with the Government of Japan, and of which certified copies shall be furnished to the other Governments' parties to the present Agreement.

*[Here follow the signatures of the representatives of the Governments of Japan, the United Kingdom, of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the Union of South Africa, India and Pakistan.]