(b) by striking out line 12 at page 32 and substituting the following therefor:

"determined under this act: and

(f) the initial amount of any pre-retirement benefits of a person as determined under the Clothing Worker Regulations or the Footwear Worker Regulations is deemed to be his initial amount of labour adjustment benefit as determined pursuant to subsection 15(1)."

He said: Allow me to explain Mr. Speaker. This amendment was urged by a number of committee members, particularly members from Montreal and the surrounding regions. They felt, and quite rightly so, that a grandfather clause ought to be introduced in this bill to protect workers who already benefit from this measure. The government looked at this proposal, found it to be reasonable and fair and this is why the amendment is now before the House. I strongly urge the House to adopt it.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Motion No. 23 (Mr. Caccia) agreed to.

• (1540)

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Ethier): The House will now proceed with the deferred division on Bill C-78, an act to provide for the payment of benefits to laid-off employees and to amend the Canada Labour Code.

Call in the members.

The House divided on Motion No. 3 (Mr. Kristiansen), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 148)

YEAS

Messrs

Althouse	
Anguish	
Benjamin	
Broadbent	
Deans	
Fulton	

Hovdebo Ittinuar Jewett (Miss) Kristians Manly Miller Murphy

Nystrom Parker (Burnaby) Sargeant Skelly Waddell—19.

NAYS

Messrs

Allmand
Appolloni
(Mrs.)
Bachand
Baker
(Nepean-Carleton)
Beatty
Beauchamp-Niquet
(Mrs.)
Bégin (Miss)
Berger
Blais
Blaker
Blenkarn
Bloomfield

Bockstael Bosley Breau Bujold Burghardt Bussières Caccia Campbell (Cardigan) Clark (Yellowhead) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates Collenette

Cooper Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Crosbie (St. John's West) Cyr Dantzer Darling Dawsor De Bané

Deniger

Desmarais

Dingwall

Labour Adjustment Benefits Messrs

Nicholson

Nielsen

Nowlan

(Miss)

Dinsdale Dion Dionne (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Ellis Ethier Ferguson Fleming Foster Francis Fretz Friesen Gauthier (Argenteuil-Papineau) Gray Greenaway Guilbault Gustafson Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Harquail Hawkes Hees Herbert Hnatyshyn Hopkins Huntington Isabelle **Jarvis** Johnston Joval

Kaplan Kelly Kilgour King Lachance Lalonde Lambert Lamontagne Lang Lapointe (Charlevoix) La Salle LeBlanc Lewis Loiselle Lumley MacBain MacEachen MacGuigan MacKay MacLaren MacLellan Malone Marceau Masters Mazankowski McCain McDermid McGrath McKenzie

Oberle Quellet Paproski Pepin Peterson Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Reid (St. Catharines) Reid (Kenora-Rainy River) Roberts Schroder Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Smith Speyer Stewart Taylor Thacker Thomson Towers Trudeau Vankoughnet McLean Watson McRae Wenman Mitges Whelan Munro Wilson (Esquimalt-Saanich) Murta Wright Yanakis-139.

[English]

Baker

Berger

Madam Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Motion No. 3 (Mr. Kristiansen) negatived.

Madam Speaker: The question is on Motion No. 14.

The House divided on Motion No. 14 (Mr. Kristiansen), which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 149)

YEAS

Messrs

Althouse Hovdebo Anguish Ittinuar Jewett (Miss) Benjamin Broadbent Kristiansen Deans Manly Fulton Miller Murphy

Nystrom Parker Robinson (Burnaby) Sargeant Skelly Waddell-19.

NAYS

Messrs

Allmand Blais Appolloni Blaker (Mrs.) Blenkarn Bachand Bloomfield Bockstael (Nepean-Carleton) Bosley Breau Beatty Beauchamp-Niquet Buiold Burghardt (Mrs.) Bégin (Miss) Bussières

Caccia

Campbell (Cardigan) Clark (Yellowhead) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates Collenette Cooper

Corbin

Cosgrove