amendment. The Chair suggested last week that it ought to be possible for honourable Members to introduce a reasoned amendment that would be acceptable to the Chair. This appeared to be extremely difficult, but because the Chair has ruled two out of order, I felt that perhaps I should be as lenient as possible in interpreting the amendment which has been submitted at this time.

Taking all these considerations into account and my desire to be helpful and to allow honourable Members to move a reasoned amendment which would be acceptable from a procedural standpoint, I do not see how

this particular amendment can be accepted for the reasons which I have just stated.

Debate was resumed on the motion of Mr. Chrétien, seconded by Mr. Macdonald (Rosedale),—That Bill C-187, An Act respecting minerals in the Yukon Territory be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

After further debate, the question being put on the said motion, it was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs.

		ZIZODDI DI		
Anderson,	Cyr,	Isabelle,	Mather,	Stewart
Andras,	Danson,	Jamieson,	Morison,	(Cochrane),
Badanai,	Deachman,	Jerome,	Munro,	Stewart (Okanagan-
Barnett,	Deakon,	Kaplan,	Nystrom,	Kootenay),
Barrett,	Douglas,	Kierans,	Orlikow,	Thomas
Basford,	Dubé,	Knowles (Winnipeg	Osler,	(Maisonneuve-
Béchard,	Duquet,	North Centre),	Pelletier,	Rosemont),
Benjamin,	Forget,	Laing	Pepin,	Thomson
Benson,	Foster,	(Vancouver South),	Perrault,	(Battleford-
Blair,	Francis,	Langlois,	Peters,	Kindersley),
Blouin,	Gendron,	Laniel,	Portelance,	Trudeau,
Borrie,	Gilbert,	Leblanc (Laurier),	Pringle,	Trudel,
Broadbent,	Gillespie,	LeBlanc (Rimouski),	Reid,	Turner
Burton,	Gleave,	Lessard (LaSalle),	Richard.	(London East),
Cafik,	Gray,	Lessard	Rose,	Turner (Ottawa-
Chappell,	Groos,	(Lac-Saint-Jean),	Roy (Laval),	Carleton),
Chrétien,	Harding,	Lewis,	Saltsman,	Walker,
Clermont,	Hopkins,	MacEachen,	Skoberg,	Weatherhead,
Corriveau,	Howard (Okanagan	MacInnis (Mrs.),	Smith	Whelan,
Côté (Longueuil),	Boundary),	Mackasey,	(Saint-Jean),	Whicher,
Crossman,	Howard (Skeena),	McIlraith,	Stanbury,	Winch,
Cullen,	Hymmen,	Mahoney,	Standary,	Yanakis—96.
		Nays		
		Messrs.		
Aiken	Forrestall	Vorahinaki	N/L-Clo-	

Aiken,	Forrestall,	Korchinski,	McCleave,	Rodrigue,
Alexander,	Fortin,	Lambert	McCutcheon.	Ryan,
Baldwin,	Gauthier,	(Bellechasse),	McKinley,	Simpson,
Bell,	Godin,	Laprise,	Monteith.	Southam,
Code,	Hales,	MacInnis (Cape	Muir.	Stanfield.
Comeau,	Harkness,	Breton-East	Nesbitt,	Stewart
Crouse,	Horner,	Richmond),	Nielsen,	(Marguette),
Danforth,	Howe,	MacLean,	Noble,	Tétrault,
Dionne,	Knowles (Norfolk-	Macquarrie,	Paproski,	Thomas
Flemming,	Haldimand),	MacRae,	Peddle.	(Moncton),
				Yewchuk—45.

Accordingly, the said bill was read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

By unanimous consent, the hour for Private Members' Business was suspended.

The Order being read for the second reading and reference to the Standing Committee on Labour, Manpower and Immigration of Bill C-228, An Act to amend the Canada Labour (Standards) Code;

Mr. Mackasey, seconded by Mr. Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt), moved,—That the said bill be now read a