#### PCO

## Note du ministre de la Défense nationale pour le Cabinet

#### Memorandum from Minister of National Defence to Cabinet

CABINET DOCUMENT 247-60
SECRET

Ottawa, July 29, 1960

### CANADIAN CONTRIBUTION TO THE UNITED NATIONS EMERGENCY FORCE IN THE CONGO REPUBLIC

(The following is an additional paper to Cabinet Document 243-60, already circulated)

- 1. Agree that it is necessary for the government to reach a decision forthwith as to whether or not any Canadian troops are going to be sent to the Congo.
- 2. That 200 personnel of the Royal Canadian Signal Corps can be despatched; these to be employed to the best advantage provided that, in principle, they are concentrated as much as possible and that under no circumstances they be deployed below the Brigade Headquarters, which I understand are in established centres where the health and welfare of Canadian troops can be better protected.
- 3. That if Signal personnel are to be deployed outside of Leopoldville, the restriction placed on the R.C.A.F. that they are not to carry any supplies or equipment elsewhere in the Congo than Leopoldville be lifted so that, if necessary, R.C.A.F. transport can supply Royal Canadian Signal Corps detachments.
  - 4. Canada will not be able to supply all the equipment that is indicated as being required.
  - 5. Agree that logistic personnel be not sent.
- 6. Agree that a reconnaissance party be sent forthwith. A limited number of personnel are already immunized and this party could be selected from those now ready.
- 7. That troops to be sent to the Congo should be concentrated in Canada immediately and that they should be despatched to the Congo individually as they become ready and transport is available.
- 8. Owing to the uncertainty as to actual numbers, I concur in the recommendation that approval be obtained to send troops not exceeding 1,000 in number.

G.R. PEARKES

14. PCO

Extrait des conclusions du Cabinet Extract from Cabinet Conclusions

Little Grow Cubinet Conclusion

[Ottawa], July 30, 1960

# SECRET Present

The Prime Minister (Mr. Diefenbaker) in the Chair,

The Minister of Finance (Mr. Fleming),

The Minister of Veterans Affairs (Mr. Brooks) (for morning meeting only)

The Minister of Transport (Mr. Hees),

The Solicitor General and Acting Secretary of State (Mr. Balcer) (for morning meeting only)

The Minister of National Defence (Mr. Pearkes),

The Minister of Trade and Commerce (Mr. Churchill)