Joнn's,

Y.

B.A.

rganized

Y.

B.A.

۱.

ı.

ı.

ry.

M.A.

M.A.

M.A.

han.

an.

an.

MINUTES

OF THE

NEWFOUNDLAND CONFERENCE OF THE METHODIST CHURCH

HELD IN

GOWER STREET CHURCH,

ST. JOHN'S.

The FOURTEENTH SESSION of the Newfoundland Conference was opened in Gower Street Methodist Church, St. John's, on Wednesday, June 23rd, 1897, at 9.30 a.m., the President Rev. H. P. Cowperthwaite M.A. in the chair.

After singing hymn 108 the Secretary, Rev. J. T. Newman, read the Scriptures 1 Peter, 1, and the Rev. J. Reay and Bro. J. G. Lucas engaged in prayer.

QUESTION I.—What Members of Conference are now present?

The Secretary called the roll and forty-five ministers and fifteen laymen answered to their names.

Following are the names of the lay members as reported by the District Secretaries.

I.—St. John's	DISTRICT.
Hon. James Angel	Sidney Woods
Hon. H. J. B. Woods	George W. Mews
John Angel	Dr. Burns
Chas. P. Ayre	John E. P. Peters
Hon. J. J. Rogerson	H. C. Burchell
A. W. Martin	A. F. Shirran
Alex. J. Scott	R. K. Bishop

II.—CARBONEAR DISTRICT.

Alfred Penny Andrew Black W. G. Parsons R. Eastman Allan G. Hudson J. C. Eveley John Trapnell DISTRICT. Stephen Cramm David Currie, J. P. Nath. Pike B. Parsons James P. Guy Robert Simpson. John C. Moores

III.—BONAVISTA DISTRICT.

J. G. Lucas James Groves A. J. Crocker W. W. Watson Geo. Christian