# COMMONS DEBATES

# (Division No. 44)

### YEAS

### Messrs:

Barnett Beaudoin Benjamin Brewin Burton Dionne Fortin Gauthier Gilbert Godin Harding Hellyer Knight Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre)

Alexander Alkenbrack Allmand Andras Asselin Badanai Baldwin Barrett Béchard Beer Bell Benson Bigg Blair Blouin Borrie Breau Buchanan Caccia Cadieu Cafik Carter Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Corbin Corriveau Côté (Longueuil) Cullen Cvr Danforth Danson Davis Deachman De Bané Diefenbaker Drury Dupras Duquet Fairweather Flemming Forest Forget Forrestall Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Goode

Lambert (Bellechasse) Laprise Latulippe Lewis MacInnis (Mrs.) Nystrom Orlikow Peters Rodrigue Rowland Tétrault Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Winch-27.

## NAYS

Messrs: Goyer Gray Grills Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Gundlock Hales Harkness Hees Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Howe Hymmen Jamieson Jerome Kaplan Kierans Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Lachance Lambert (Edmonton West) Langlois Laniel La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lind Loiselle Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacEachen MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) Mackasey MacKay MacLean Macquarrie McBride McCleave McCutcheon McGrath McIntosh

McKinley

#### McNulty McQuaid Mahoney Major Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Marshall Monteith Morison Muir Munro Murta Nesbitt Noble Noël Nowlan O'Connell Olson Osler Otto Ouellet Paproski Peddle Pelletier Penner Pepin Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Richard

### Division Messrs:

Robinson Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Rynard Serré Sharp Simpson Smerchanski Smith (Saint-Jean) Southam Stafford Stanfield Stewart (Cochrane) Stewart (Marquette) St. Pierre Sullivan Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Thomas (Moncton) Tolmie Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) (Ottawa-Carleton) Turner Walker Watson Weatherhead Whicher Whiting Woolliams-159.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

Hon. John C. Munro (Minister of National Health and Welfare) moved that Bill C-170, to provide for the payment of benefits in respect of children, as reported (with amendments) from the Standing Committee on Health, Welfare and Social Affairs, be concurred in.

Motion agreed to.

Ritchie

**Mr. Speaker:** When shall the said bill be read a third time?

Some hon. Members: Now.

Mr. Speaker: By leave now?

An hon. Member: No.

Mr. Speaker: Next sitting of the House.

Some hon. Members: Now.

**Mr. Speaker:** It requires unanimous consent and since there is not unanimous consent, the bill cannot be given third reading now.

Is the hon. member rising on a point of order?

**Mr. Bell:** Mr. Speaker, I understood that you put the request that, by leave, we move to third reading.

**Mr. Speaker:** The Chair did this and it required unanimous consent. There was one member who objected. Perhaps hon. members wish me to inquire again.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. Speaker: Is there unanimous consent?