to help revitalize the Cabinet which has an average age of 47.

The new Cabinet will differ from its Conservative predecessor in that there will no longer be inner and outer Cabinets. Instead, Mr. Trudeau is expected to recreate the priorities and planning committee as the Cabinet's central Committee.

In addition, there will be two "superministers" who will look after co-ordinating policies for several ministries. They are: Jean Chrétien, Minister of Justice and Minister of State for Social Programs and Bud Olson, Minister of State for Economic Development.

The ministry, in order of precedence is: • Allan MacEachen, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance;

. Jean-Luc Pepin, Minister of Transport;

• Jean Chrétien, Minister of Justice and Minister of State for Social Development:

• John Munro, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development;

• H.A. (Bud) Olson, Minister of State for Economic Development and Senate House Leader;

• Herb Gray, Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce;

• Eugene Whelan, Minister of Agriculture;

• André Ouellet, Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs and Postmaster General;

. Daniel MacDonald, Minister of Vet-

erans Affairs;

• Marc Lalonde, Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources;

• Ray Perrault, Leader of the Government in the Senate;

• Roméo LeBlanc, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans;

• John Roberts, Minister of State for Science and Technology and Minister of the Environment;

• Monique Bégin, Minister of National Health and Welfare;

• Jean-Jacques Blais, Minister of Supply and Services;

• Francis Fox, Secretary of State and Minister of Communications;

• Gilles Lamontagne, Minister of National Defence;

• Pierre De Bané, Minister of Regional Economic Expansion;

• Hazen Argue, Minister of State for the Wheat Board;

• Gerald Regan, Minister of Labour and Minister of State for Sports;

• Mark MacGuigan, Secretary of State for External Affairs;

. Robert Kaplan, Solicitor General;

• James Fleming, Minister of State for Multiculturalism;

• William Rompkey, Minister of National Revenue;

• Pierre Bussières, Minister of State in the Department of Finance;

Charles Lapointe, Minister of State for

Small Business;

Ed Lumley, Minister of State for Trade; Yvon Pinard, President of the Privy

Council and Government House Leader; • Donald Johnston, President of the

Treasury Board;

• Lloyd Axworthy, Minister of Employment and Immigration and Minister of State for the Status of Women;

• Paul Cosgrove, Minister of Public Works with responsibility for C.M.H.C.;

Judy Erola, Minister of State for Mines.

The opening of the thirty-second Parliament will take place on April 14. The House of Commons will be presided over by a new Speaker.

## A woman Speaker of the House

Jeanne Sauvé, former Minister of Communications and member of Parliament for the Montreal riding of Ahuntsic, has been named Speaker of the House of Commons — the first woman to be appointed to the post.

The appointment, made on February 29 by Prime Minister Trudeau, was approved by Leader of the Opposition Joe Clark.

The Speaker of the House directs the debates and supervises the personnel of the House comprising about 1,500 persons. The Speaker does not take part in the debates but can vote to break a tie in the House.



An official photograph of Pierre Trudeau and his new Cabinet. From left to right, seated: Herb Gray, Eugene Whelan, Jean Chrétien, Allan MacEachen, Pierre Trudeau, Governor-General Edward Schreyer, Jean-Luc Pepin, John Munro, Bud Olson, André Ouellet, Daniel MacDonald; standing: Mark MacGuigan, Hazen Argue, Charles Lapointe, Pierre De Bané, Jean-Jacques Blais, John Roberts, Donald Johnston, Ray Perrault, Ed Lumley, Marc Lalonde, William Rompkey, Roméo LeBlanc, Pierre Bussières, Monique Bégin, James Fleming, Francis Fox, Gilles Lamontagne, Robert Kaplan, Gerald Regan, Paul Cosgrove, Judy Erola, Yvon Pinard, Lloyd Axworthy.

Jean-Marc Carisse