Vacancies in the Board, caused, during the past year, by the resignation of Messrs. W. Bristow, C. H. Gates, and F. P. Colley, have been filled by the substitution for these gentlemen of Messrs. W. Kimlin, W. White, and J. G. Clapham, N. P. Mr. J. L. Mackirdy was appointed their Chairman, at the first meeting of the Board, but his departure from the Province rendered it necessary, according to the Constitution, to choose one of the Directors to act as Chairman, during his absence, and Mr. Samuel Newton was named. The Constitution has also required the Directors to select four of their number, who should remain in office for a second year, and accordingly Messrs. Scott, Newton, Gingras, and Wurtele, have been chosen by ballot.

All which is respectfully submitted.

SAML. NEWTON,

Chairman of Board of Directors, Q. L. A.

Quebec, 2d Jan. 1845.