MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

TUESDAY, February 24, 1959.

The Standing Committee on Mines, Forests and Waters met at 10.00 o'clock a.m. this day, the Chairman, Mr. J. W. Murphy, presiding.

Members present: Messrs. Aiken, Coates, Drouin, Dumas, Granger, Gundlock, Hardie, Kindt, Korchinski, MacInnis, MacRae, Martel, Martineau, McFarlane, McGregor, McQuillan, Mitchell, Murphy, Nielsen, Payne, Robichaud and Stearns.—22.

In attendance, from the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys: The Honourable Paul Comtois, Minister; Dr. Marc Boyer, Deputy Minister; Dr. W. E. van Steenburgh, Director-General of Scientific Services; Dr. John Convey, Director, Mines Branch; Mr. A. Ignatieff, Chief, Fuels Division; Mr. S. G. Gamble, Director, Surveys and Mapping Branch; Mr. Robert Thistlethwaite, Surveyor General of Canada; Mr. J. E. Lilly, Dominion Geodesist; Mr. A. C. Tuttle, Chief Topographical Engineer; Mr. Douglas Baldock, Chief Cartographer; Mr. N. G. Gray, Dominion Hydrographer; Mr. H. A. S. West, Secretary, Interdepartmental Committee on Air Surveys; Dr. C. S. Beals, Dominion Astronomer; Dr. N. L. Nicholson, Director, Geographical Branch; Mr. W. K. Buck, Chief, Mineral Resources Division; Mr. K. M. Pack, Chief Administrative Officer; Mr. R. B. Code, Chief, Personnel and Office Services Division; Mr. G. H. Murray, Chief, Editorial and Information Division; Mr. H. P. Kimbell, Chief, Explosives Division; and Mr. J. Murray Sutherland, Chief, Financial Services Division.

The Committee resumed its consideration of the 1959-60 estimates of the Department of Mines and Technical Surveys and reverted to Item 186, Departmental Administration.

The Minister was questioned on matters arising from his opening statement to the Committee on February 17th. The Deputy Minister and certain officials answered questions which were referred to them.

Item 186 was approved.

Item 187, Explosives Act Administration, and Item 188, Mineral Resources Division, were severally called, considered and approved.

Items 189 to 199, concerning the Surveys and Mapping Branch, were called and considered.

At 12.00 o'clock noon the Committee adjourned until 10.00 o'clock a.m. on Thursday, February 26, 1959.

Eric H. Jones, Clerk of the Committee.