- Dr. George Bell, President, Canadian Institute for Strategic Studies, former General, Canadian Armed Forces;
- Dr. W. Harriet Critchley, Director, the Arctic Institute of North America, University of Calgary;
- Mr. Paul Desmarais, Chairman of Power Corporation;
- Mr. Gwynne Dyer, International affairs journalist and military historian;
- Mr. William Epstein, former Director of the United Nations
 Disarmament Division;
- Dr. Maryaret Fulton, President of Mount St. Vincent University, Halifax;
- Dr. Albert Legault, Professor of Political Science, Laval University;
- Ms. Joanna Miller, Project Ploughshares, Saskatchewan, former President, UNICEF Canada;
- Mr. Dennis McDermott, President, Canadian Labour Congress;
- Dr. John H. Sigler, Professor of Political Science, Carleton University;
- Dr. Lois Wilson, former Moderator of the United Church of Canada:
- Mr. Gerald Wright, Vice-President, Canadian Donner Foundation.

The initial meeting of the Board is tentatively scheduled to be held in Ottawa in mid-September. Once the Canadian Board members have elected a Chairman and Executive Director, non-Canadian directors will be appointed.

The permanent location in Canada of the Institute will be decided later.