The <u>Consular Division</u> is responsible for the conduct of all consular matters. Its duties include safeguarding the rights and interests of Canadian citizens and companies abroad; making arrangements for the protection and evacuation of Canadians resident abroad in times of emergency or war; representing Canadian citizens in matters of estates abroad; assisting in finding missing persons; helping Canadian citizens abroad who are temporarily destitute, including the granting of financial aid on a recoverable basis; assisting Canadian seamen in distress; procuring and authenticating legal documents and providing advice and assistance on citizenship questions. The Consular Division is also responsible for the negotiation of agreements with foreign countries permitting citizens of Canada to enter these countries for certain specified periods of time without the necessity of obtaining visas. Agreements have already been concluded under which Canadians may temporarily enter 16 countries without visas.

The Passport Division is responsible for issuing passports to Canadian citizens, through its Passport Office in Ottawa and through Canadian diplomatic missions and consular and trade offices abroad. The Passport Office also provides certificates of identity to non-Canadians legally landed and currently residing in Canada who are eligible to receive them. During 1965, 203,571 passports were issued to citizens resident in Canada, and 38,456 were renewed. Some 1,190 certificates of identity were issued and 1,003 were renewed. Fees received by Passport Office during the year amounted to \$1,087,190. Growth in public demand for passport services has increased by 135 per cent during the past ten years.

The administrative work of the Department of External Affairs is performed by the Administrative Services Division, the Communications Division, the Finance Division, the Personnel Operations Division, the Personnel Services Division, the Registry Division, the Supplies and Properties Division, the Administrative Improvement Unit and the Organization and Methods Unit.

The work of the Administrative Services Division includes the handling of pay and allowances, leave and attendance, superannuation, printing and reproduction of documents, co-ordination of services relating to posting of personnel abroad, the processing of hospital and medical claims from members of the Department serving abroad, and the preparation and administration of departmental manuals and directives.

The <u>Communications Division</u> is responsible for the administration and operation of the Canadian diplomatic communication system, which provides for the despatch and receipt of messages by telegram, teletype, Telex, diplomatic courier and diplomatic mail facilities between Ottawa and posts abroad. It also arranges for the provision of telephone service at headquarters and at posts, conducts training courses for communicators, technicians and other departmental personnel and is responsible for buying, leasing and maintaining all equipment used in the system. The division carries out liaison with other departments and agencies that employ these facilities.

Chief among the duties of the Finance Division are the preparation of the main and supplementary estimates for External Affairs, general financial control over departmental expenditures, the financing of missions and the auditing of mission accounts, the handling of travel and removal claims, payments to international organizations, and administrative arrangements for Canadian participation in international conferences.