The Treasury Board was first established as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada and was made a statutory committee in 1869. The Government Organization Act of 1966 established the Board Secretariat as a separate department of the Government with its own Minister, the President of the Treasury Board.

The committee constituting the Treasury Board includes, in addition to the President, the Minister of Finance and four other Privy Councillors. The Treasury Board Secretariat and the Office of the Comptroller General are the administrative arms of the Board. The position of Comptroller General was created in 1978: the holder of that office, like the Secretary of the Treasury Board, is a deputy head directly responsible to the President. The 1977-78 budget was estimated at \$377,157,000. Of this amount, \$80,759,000 constituted the Government's employer contributions to employee-benefit plans.

The staff of the Treasury Board Secretariat is divided among the four branches described below.

Program Branch

The Program Branch is responsible for the analysis of departmental plans, programs and organizational proposals with a view to recommending to Treasury Board the acceptance or modification of proposals in accordance with the financial and other priorities of the Government. It is responsible for developing the estimates, reflecting the expenditure decisions of the Government, for the approval of Parliament.

The estimates for any one fiscal year are determined in the light of a review of departmental "program forecasts". This review takes place each year over a period of about three months in the spring and early summer and culminates in the approval by the Government of an expenditure plan for the coming fiscal year. In the autumn, this plan is used by departments and agencies as the basis for the preparation of their main estimates submissions. These submissions are reviewed by the Board and submitted to the Government for final approval in December. When they have been approved, the