ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The Special Committee on Participation of Visible Minorities in Canadian Society received its mandate from Parliament on June 27, 1983. Since that time, the Committee has heard testimony from a wide cross-section of interest groups and regional representatives on the many issues related to the participation of visible minorities in Canada. We wish to extend special thanks to the witnesses who appeared before us in Ottawa and in the nine other Canadian cities we visited (See Appendix A).

We are also grateful for the many briefs and submissions we received from groups and for the many letters sent by individuals (See Appendix B). This process of consultation has been invaluable in helping the Special Committee recommend a course of action which will bring equitable treatment to those not currently receiving it.

The Special Committee acknowledges with thanks the excellent work of its dedicated central staff and the long hours they devoted to this study. We wish to thank the Clerk of the Committee, Judith LaRocque, who managed the administrative, financial and logistical considerations of the inquiry and the Study Director, Jack Kehoe, who supervised the research team and organized the analysis of the submissions.

The Special Committee expresses its special thanks to the following research associates and consultants: Dorothy Wills, Montreal; Suzing Hum, Ottawa; Saul Arbess, Victoria; Keith Lowe, Toronto; Lloyd Stanford, Ottawa; Harish Jain, Hamilton and Harbans Narang, Regina. The Committee also appreciates the assistance provided by the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament and, particularly, the work of Brooke Jeffrey, Philip Rosen and Estelle Reed. The graphics and design are the work of Dan Sullivan.

The Special Committee would like to thank the staff of the Committees and Private Legislation Directorate, the Translation Bureau of the Secretary of State Department and the other services of the House of Commons that have provided administrative and technical support.

Finally, the Special Committee would like to acknowledge the contribution of the Honourable Jim Fleming whose concern and foresight led to the formation of this Committee.