doc CA1 EA17 89C16 ENG

### CANADIAN

# FOREIGN POLICY

## SERIES

. 63462183E)

Overview

Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization



**April 1989** 

#### Introduction

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is a political and military alliance of 16 democratic nations in Western Europe and North America acting collectively to deter and, if necessary, defend against any aggression, in accordance with the terms of Article 51 of the United Nations Charter. The primary purpose of the Alliance is to defend the NATO area through effective co-ordination of the collective military capabilities of Alliance members. But it also serves the equally important political role as the central Western forum for consulting on developments of common interest, particularly on means of reducing East-West tensions and maintaining international peace and security.

The 16 Allies are Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, the Federal Republic of Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

### The Formation and Evolution of NATO

After the Second World War, it became clear to the democratic societies on both sides of the Atlantic that, if another such global conflict were to be avoided, they would have to work together during peacetime as they had during the war. Deteriorating relations between the Soviet Union and its former allies, and developments in Eastern Europe, persuaded the free countries of Western Europe and North America that common defensive action was needed.

While several Western leaders had considered the idea of a defensive alliance within the framework of the United Nations, the Europeans were the first to take concrete action. In