CANADIAN QUARANTINE REGULATIONS.

THE QUARANTINE STATIONS.

1. The Quarantine Stations of Canada at the Atlantic Maritime Ports, are:—

(a.) Grosse Isle, in the River St. Lawrence, with Rimouski, the Louise Embankment and the Grand Trunk Wharf at Lévis, as substations, province of Quebec;

(b.) Halifax, the harbour and Lawlor's Island, in the province of

Nova Scotia;

(c.) St. John, the harbour and Patridge Island, in the province of New Brunswick;

(a.) Sydney, Cape Breton, in the province of Nova Scotia;

(e.) Pictou, in the province of Nova Scotia;

(f.) Hawkesbury, in the province of Nova Scotia; (g.) Chatham, in the province of New Brunswick;

(h.) Charlottetown, in the province of Prince Edward Island;

2. On the Pacific Coast:—

(a.) Williams Head, including Albert Head, in the Strait of Fuca, province of British Columbia, and also including as a sub-station the port of Victoria; and,

3. Every other port, on both oceans, at each of which the Collector of Customs is the quarantine officer, such port being designated an

unorganized quarantine station;

4. And every inland Customs port on the Canadian frontier, between the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans, each such port being designated an unorganized inland quarantine station.

GENERAL PROVISIONS.

5. Every quarantine officer at a quarantine station in Canada, and every customs collector in his quality of quarantine officer, shall for the purpose of these regulations be a justice of the peace in virtue of the provisions of Sec. 5 of the Act respecting Quarantine,

Chap. 68, Revised Statutes.

6. Within the meaning of these regulations an infected port or country is a port or country where Asiatic cholera or other epidemic disease has been communicated to one or more persons through the medium of an infected person, personal effects or otherwise. A port or country is not considered infected when a single case or a small number of cases has been imported and the disease has not been communicated from such cases.