## MISCELLANEOUS.

- I. The British Constitution is the whole body of public law, customs, and decisions which define the powers of government. It is different from that of Canada in that it is not contained in one formal document.
- 2. The British Government consists of three branches:—

The Sovereign (hereditary).

The House of Lords (hereditary and appointed). The House of Commons (elective).

3. A Representative Government is one elec-

ted by the people.

4. By Responsible Government we mean that the Ministry must have the support of a majority of the members of Parliament or resign office.

- 5. By Party Government we mean the practice of choosing all the members of the Cabinet from one political party. This originated in the reign of William III.
  - 6. The Ministerial Party is the party in power.
- 7. The Opposition is the party in Parliament which is opposed to the Government. It watches and criticises each act, and aims to secure the reins of power.

8. The Prime Minister, Premier, or Leader of the Government is the person to whom the Sovereign has intrusted the management of the affairs

of the nation.

9. The Cabinet or Ministry is the body of men who advise the Crown and otherwise carry on the government. Each Minister has charge of one branch or department of State.