## House of Commons

## THE MINISTRY

ANNOUNCEMENT OF CHANGES AND APPOINTMENTS

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister): Mr. Speaker, it is customary at this time to announce changes that have taken place in the ministry since the previous session. The following changes were made effective August 9, 1962:

Hon. Donald Methuen Fleming, Minister of Justice and Attorney General; formerly

Minister of Finance.

Hon. Edmund Davie Fulton, Minister of Public Works; formerly Minister of Justice and Attorney General.

Hon. George Clyde Nowlan, Minister of Finance and Receiver General; formerly Minister of National Revenue. Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough, Postmaster General; formerly Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Hon. Hugh John Flemming, Minister of Forestry and Minister of National Revenue; formerly only Minister of Forestry.

Hon. George Ernest Halpenny, Secretary of State for Canada, formerly Minister without Portfolio.

Hon. Paul Martineau, Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys.

Hon. Richard Albert Bell, Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Hon. Senator Malcolm Wallace McCutcheon, Minister without Portfolio.

I should like also to announce that the following have been appointed parliamentary secretaries as of August 17 last:

Montcalm)	Secretary of State for External Affairs Minister of Justice Minister of Trade and Commerce Minister of Transport Minister of Veterans Affairs Minister of Public Works Minister of Finance Minister of Fisheries Minister of Labour Minister of National Health and Welfare Minister of Agriculture
J. A. McGrath (St. John's East)To M. F. C. McGee (York-Scarborough)To I	Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys Minister of Citizenship and Immigration

## INTERNAL ECONOMY COMMISSION

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister) presented the following message from His Excellency the Governor General:

The Governor General transmits to the House of Commons a certified copy of an Order in Council appointing the Hon. Leon Balcer, Minister of Transport, the Hon. Gordon Churchill, Minister of Veterans Affairs, the Hon. George Clyde Nowlan, Minister of Finance, and the Hon. Ellen Louks Fairclough, Postmaster General, to act with the Speaker of the House of Commons as commissioners for the purposes and under the provisions of chapter 143 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1952, intituled: An Act respecting the House of Commons.

## HOUSE OF COMMONS

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES OF THE WHOLE

Right Hon. J. G. Diefenbaker (Prime Minister): I should now like to place before the house the nomination for the chairmanship of the committee of the whole house. I therefore move, seconded by Mr. Churchill,

that Mr. Gordon Campbell Chown, member for the electoral district of Winnipeg South be appointed chairman of committees of the whole house.

Mr. Chown, a young man of 40 years of age, educated at the University of Manitoba and at Queen's University, is a lawyer by profession. In the last world war he enlisted in the army as a private and rose to the rank of captain. Before coming to the House of Commons he served in a civic capacity as an alderman of the city of Winnipeg for a period of three years. He has been a member of the House of Commons for a number of years during which time he discharged responsibilities akin to those which he would now assume if his nomination were accepted by the house. It can be said that in the discharge of those duties he showed those characteristics of fairness and impartiality needed and requisite of anyone occupying the important position of chairman of committees.

[Mr. Diefenbaker.]