## A SKETCH

OF THE

## COUNTY OF HALTON,

## CANADA WEST.

The County of Halton is bounded on the North by the County of Wellington, on the East of the County of Peel, on the South by Lake Ontario, and on the West by the County of Wentworth and the Township of Puslinch, in the County of Waterloo. It contains 229,555 acres, and in 1861, its assessed value was \$6,702,993, with a popu-Intion of about 22,794. County Town—Milton, the assessed value of which in 1861 was \$150,000, with a popu<sup>2</sup>-tion of about 1,000. Halton has four Townships, we are as follows :—Trafalgar, Nelson, Esquesing and Nasgaweya.

## TRAFALGAR.

Trafalgar contains about 68,613 acres, and is bounded on the North by the Township of Esquesing, on the East by the Township of Toronto, in the County of Peel, on the South by Lake Ontario, and on the West by the Township of Nelson.