Epp

• (2030)

[Translation]

Madam Deputy Speaker: Citation 329 of Beauchesne's 6th edition says:

The Standing Orders of the House are virtually silent on the subject of Members' dress. Standing Order 17 requires that a Member who wishes to speak must rise uncovered.

So when a member rises, his head must be uncovered. That is exactly the ruling applied on another occasion, which the hon. member for Calgary North referred to recently, when a member wore a hat during a vote.

Citation 330 of Beauchesne's 6th edition also says:

A jacket and tie are required to be worn by male Members.

To be recognized and have—May I finish my sentence? The hon, member for Longueuil will please remain seated while the Speaker is standing.

[English]

The first question is on Motion No. 1.

The House divided on Motion No. 1, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 150)

YEAS

Members

Althouse
Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Cross
Blaikie
Edmonston
Gardiner
Grey (Beaver River)
Heap
Karpoff
McLaughlin
Nystrom
Saint-Julien

Young (Beaches - Woodbine) -25

Taylor

Angus
Black
Butland
Fisher
Gray (Bonaventure—Îles-de-la-Madeleine)
Harvey (Edmonton East)
Howdebo
McCurdy
Murphy
Parker

Skelly (North Island—Powell River) Whittaker

NIA

NAYS

Member

	Memoers	
Anawak	Andre	
Arseneault	Bélair	
Bernier	Bevilacqua	
Blackburn (Jonquière)	Bosley	
Boudria	Cadieux	
Callbeck	Campbell (South West Nova)	
Campbell (Vancouver Centre)	Catterall	
Collins	Comuzzi	
Cook	Copps	
Corbeil	Corbett	
Crawford	Crosbie (St. John's West)	
Crosby (Halifax West)	de Cotret	
Dingwall	Duceppe	

Government Orders

Ferguson

Garriney	Gagilano
Gauthier	Gérin
Guarnieri	Halliday
Harvard	Hawkes
Hockin	Hopkins
Jelinek	Jordan
Keyes	Kilger (Stormont - Dundas)
Kindy	Landry
Lapierre	Leblanc (Longueuil)
MacAulay	MacKay
MacLaren	MacLellan
Marchi	Marleau
Martin (Lasalle-Émard)	Martin (Lincoln)
Masse	Mayer
Mazankowski	McDermid
McKnight	McLean
Merrithew	Milliken
Mills	Nault
Nowlan	Nunziata
Oberle	Ouellet
Pagtakhan	Phinney
Plamondon	Proud
Redway	Reimer
Rideout	Rocheleau
Siddon	Thacker
Tremblay (Rosemont)	Valcourt
Vanclief	Vankoughnet
Venne	Vézina
Walker	Wappel
Winegard-87	

PAIRED MEMBERS

Allmand	Anderson
Arseneault	Bird
Blondin	Caccia
Cadieux	Callbeck
Campbell (South West Nova)	Catterall
Clancy	Clark (Yellowhead
Cooper	Copps
Crosby (Halifax West)	Danis
Darling	de Cotret
Ferguson	Gustafson
Harvard	Jelinek
Kaplan	Karygiannis
Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast)	Layton
MacDonald (Dartmouth)	Maheu
Marchi	Marleau
Martin (Lasalle-Émard)	Martin (Lincoln)
Masse	Mayer
Mazankowski	McCreath
McKnight	McLean
Milliken	Nault
Nunziata	O'Kurley
Ouellet	Pagtakhan
Phinney	Redway
Richardson	Rideout
Rompkey	Schneider
Shields	Simmons
Stewart	Thorkelson
Turner (Halton-Peel)	Valcourt
Vézina	Weiner

Madam Deputy Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

The next question is on Motion No. 2. This vote will also apply to Motions Nos. 7, 35, 50, 51, 54, 55 and 59.

The House divided on Motion No. 2, which was negatived on the following division: