Security Council—Conc.

Serving until December 31, 1960:	Serving until December 31, 1961: <sup>1</sup>
Argentina	Ecuador <sup>2</sup>
Italy	Ceylon <sup>2</sup>
Tunisia	Poland

<sup>1</sup> Elected at the fourteenth session to serve from January 1, 1960.

<sup>2</sup> Ecuador and Ceylon were elected on the first ballot on 12 October and Poland on the 52nd ballot on 13 December, 1959. (Thirteen inconclusive ballots were held on 12 October, 12 on 13 October; 6 on 19 October; 6 on 3 November; 6 on 17 November; 6 on 1 December; 2 on 11 December, and 1 on 13 December. Before the last ballot was taken, the President of the Assembly announced an understanding that Poland would at this time be the sole candidate to the Security Council. If Poland was elected she would keep this post for the calendar year 1960. The resignation of Poland, which was an integral part of the agreement arrived at, would become effective 31 December 1960. It would follow that, during the fifteenth session of the General Assembly, Turkey would be the sole candidate to fill the vacancy in the Security Council to occupy that place during the year 1961.)

## Economic and Social Council (3-year term)

Serving until December 31, 1959: Finland Mexico Pakistan Poland U.S.S.R. United Kingdom

Serving until December 31, 1960: Chile China Costa Rica France Netherlands Sudan Serving until December 31, 1961: Afghanistan Bulgaria New Zealand Spain United States of America Venezuela

Serving until December 31, 1962:<sup>1</sup> Brazil Denmark Japan Poland U.S.S.R. The United Kingdom

United Arab Republic

<sup>1</sup> Elected at the fourteenth session to serve from January 1, 1960.

## **Trusteeship Council**

Territories: Administering Trust Territories: China Australia U.S.S.R. Belgium Elective Members (3-year term): France<sup>1</sup> Serving until December 31, 1959: Italy<sup>2</sup> Haiti<sup>3</sup> New Zealand India<sup>4</sup> United Kingdom Serving until December 31, 1961: **United** States Burma Paraguay Permanent Members of the Security

Council not Administering Trust

<sup>1</sup> Will no longer qualify after April 27, 1960 as an administering member but will remain on the council as a Permanent Member of the Security Council.

<sup>2</sup> Will cease to qualify as an administering member after July 1, 1960.

<sup>8</sup> At the fourteenth session of the General Assembly, Bolivia was elected to replace Haiti after December 31, 1959.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> India was re-elected to the Trusteeship Council at the fourteenth session.