The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, announced today the appointment of the following senior officers of the Departments of External Affairs and of Industry, Trade and Commerce as Heads of Post of Canadian diplomatic missions. These are:

Mr. Alfred P. Bissonnet, 55, of Stanstead, Quebec, Ambassador in Indonesia, to become Canadian Ambassador to Argentina, succeeding Mr. Robert Choquette. Mr. Bissonnet is a former Director of the Trade Commissioner Service.

Mr. Kenneth C. Brown of Toronto, 45, Deputy Head of European Division of the Department of External Affairs, to become Ambassador to Cuba, replacing Mr. Léon Mayrand.

Mr. Pierre Charpentier of Ottawa, 44, the Department of External Affairs' "University Visitor" at Laval University during the last academic year, to become Ambassador to Peru and to Bolivia, replacing Mr. François Houde.

Mr. W. Thomas Delworth, 41, of Toronto, of the Far Eastern Division of the Department of External Affairs, to be Ambassador to Indonesia, replacing Mr. A.Bissonnet.

Mr. John A. Dougan, 49, of Lethbridge, Alberta, High Commissioner to Guyana, to become High Commissioner to New Zealand, succeeding Mr. R.M. Macdonnell.

Mr. Sidney A. Freifeld, 59, of Toronto, who recently completed a tour of duty as Chargé d'Affaires a.i. of the Embassy in Montevideo to become Ambassador to Colombia, replacing Mr. J.H. Cleveland.

Mr. François-Xavier Houde, 47, of Quebec City, Ambassador to Peru and to Bolivia, to become Consul General in Boston, replacing Mr. S.D. Hemsley.

Mr. Ronald M.Macdonnell, 61, of Vernon, B.C., High Commissioner to New Zealand, to become High Commissioner to Ceylon, replacing Mr. John Timmerman.

Mr. Allan S.McGill, 48, of Smithers, B.C., presently Senior Departmental Assistant to the Secretary of State for External Affairs, to become Canadian High Commissioner to Nigeria, replacing Mr. Paul Malone.

Mr. Donald S.McPhail, 39, of Halifax, N.S., Head of the Commercial Policy Division of External Affairs, to become Ambassador to Venezuela, replacing Mr. Bruce I.Rankin.