The Committee met at 9.00 o'clock p.m. The Chairman, Hon. Walter Harris, presided.

Members present: Messrs Applewhaite, Argue, Decore, Dewar, Fair, Fleming, Harris (Grey-Bruce), Johnston, Kirk, (Antigonish-Guysborough), Knowles, MacNaught, McCubbin, McIlraith, Mott, Murphy, Nowlan, Robinson, Viau, Welbourn, Whiteside, Winkler.

In attendance: Mr. Nelson Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer.

The Committee resumed consideration of the schedule to the proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.

Mr. McIlraith presented, and moved the adoption of, the final report of the Province of Ontario sub-committee, which is as follows:

Huron-Perth: Add Morris, Grey, Colborne, Goderich and Clinton from Huron North to Huron-Perth.

Bruce: Add Ashfield, East Wawanosh and West Wawanosh from Huron North to Bruce.

Wellington North: Add Howick and Turnberry Townships, including the town of Wingham from Huron North; Add Pilkington and Nichol, including Fergus and Elora from Wellington South. Remove East Garafraxa and East Luther and add them to Dufferin-Simcoe. Remove Erin and add it to Wellington South.

Wentworth: Take that part of the City of Hamilton that is in Wentworth Constituency plus the Hamilton City part in the constituency of Brant-Wentworth Constituency and put it into a new Constituency to be called Hamilton-South East; together with a boundary change between Hamilton West and Hamilton South East. The remainder of Wentworth to be put with the part of Wentworth County that is in Brant-Wentworth Constituency to make a constituency called Wentworth which is the whole County of Wentworth.

Hamilton East: Slight boundary change.

Brant-Wentworth: Take a small particularly described part around Brantford, 3,070 population, and put into Brantford. Take the part of Wentworth that is in this constituency and put it in with the rural part of Wentworth as above.

Grey-Bruce, Grey-North, Lincoln, Perth, Simcoe North, Toronto constituencies of: Broadview, Davenport, Eglinton, Greenwood, Parkdale, Rosedale, St. Paul's, Spadina, Trinity, to remain as at present.

Mr. Murphy, seconded by Mr. Fleming, moved that the Report be not now adopted but referred back to the sub-committee so far as it relates to the following ridings:

Haldimand, Wentworth, Lincoln, Brant-Wentworth, Brant-Haldimand, Wellington North, Wellington South, Huron-Perth, Perth; Bruce, Huron North.

After some debate thereon and the question having been put on the proposed amendment of Mr. Murphy it was, on a show of hands, resolved in the negative on the following division: Yeas, 5; Nays, 16.