With leave of the Senate,

The Honourable Senator Martin, P.C., moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator McDonald:

That the Report of the Parliamentary Librarian presented by the Honourable the Speaker and laid on the Table on Thursday, 23rd October, 1969, be printed as an Appendix to the Minutes of the Proceedings of the Senate of this day and form part of the permanent records of this House.

The question being put on the motion, it was—Resolved in the affirmative.

(See Appendix to the Journals of the Senate of this day at pages 20-33).

The Honourable Senator Connolly, P.C., called the attention of the Senate to the Fifteenth General Conference of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, held in Trinidad and Tobago, from 5th to 18th October, 1969.

After debate.

The Honourable Senator Bélisle moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Phillips (*Prince*), that further debate on the inquiry be adjourned until the next sitting of the Senate.

The question being put on the motion, it was—Resolved in the affirmative.

The Honourable Senator Croll moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Roebuck:

That a Special Committee of the Senate be appointed to investigate and report upon all aspects of poverty in Canada, whether urban, rural, regional or otherwise, to define and elucidate the problem of poverty in Canada, and to recommend appropriate action to ensure the establishment of a more effective structure of remedial measures;

That the Committee have power to engage the services of such counsel, staff and technical advisors as may be necessary for the purpose of the inquiry;

That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records, to examine witnesses, and to report from time to time;

That the Committee be authorized to print such papers and evidence from day to day as may be ordered by the Committee, to sit during sittings and adjournments of the Senate, and to adjourn from place to place;

That the evidence taken on the subject during the preceding session be referred to the Committee; and

That the Committee be composed of the Honourable Senators Bélisle, Carter, Cook, Croll, Eudes, Everett, Fergusson, Fournier (Madawaska-Restigouche), Hastings, Inman, Lefrançois, McGrand, Pearson, Quart, Roebuck and Sparrow.

After debate,

In amendment, the Honourable Senator McDonald moved, seconded by the Honourable Senator Burchill, that the motion be not now adopted, but