The Special Economic Measures Act, in section 4(1), authorizes the Governor in Council to make regulations in response to "a decision, resolution or recommendation of an international organization or association of states, of which Canada is a member, that calls on its members to take economic measures against a foreign state". The G8, represented in this instance by the foreign ministers, constitutes an "association of states, of which Canada is a member". The sanctions measures agreed to by Canada were enacted by the Special Economic Measures (Federal Republic of Yugoslavia) Regulations, also on July 28, 1998.