## STATE OFFICERS AND STATE BOARDS.

The following schedule of State officers and State boards is given partly as suggestive of the civil structure and working of the State government, and partly as a convenience to persons outside of the State who may wish to correspond with any of the departments:

## ELECTIVE STATE OFFICERS\* AND THEIR PRINCIPAL DEPUTIES.

Governor: John J. Bagley. Residence, Detroit.

Private Secretary to the Governor: George H. Hopkins. Residence, Detroit.

Lieutenant Governor: HENRY H. HOLT. Residence, Muskegon.

Secretary of State: E. G. D. HOLDEN. Residence, Grand Rapids.

Deputy Secretary of State: WM. CROSBY. Residence, Lansing.

Auditor General: RALPH ELY. Residence, Alma.

Deputy Auditor General: Hubert R. Pratt. Residence, Lansing.

Commissioner of the State Land Office: LEVERETT A. CLAPP. Residence, Centerville.

Deputy Commissioner: Ozro A. Bowen. Residence, Lausing. State Treasurer: WILLIAM B. McCreery. Residence, Flint.

Deputy Treasurer: Charles II, Hodskin. Residence, Lansing.

Attorney General: Andrew J. Smith. Residence, Cassopolis.

Superintendent of Public Instruction: DANIEL B. BRIGGS. Residence, Romeo.

Deputy Superintendent: Cortland B. Stebbins. Residence, Lansing.

Regents of the State University: Samuel S. Walker, St. Johns; term expires 1883.

Byron M. Cutcheon. Manistee; term expires 1883. Edward C. Walker, Detroit; term expires 1881. Andrew Clime, Leonidas; term expires 1881. Charles Rynd, Adrian; term expires 1879. Claudus B. Graxt, Honghton; term expires 1879. Joseph Estabrook, Ypsilanti; term expires 1877. Jonas H. McGowan, Coldwater; term expires 1877. The President of the University, James B. Angell, I.L. D., Ann Arbot, exposition.

Members of the State Board of Elucation: EDGAR REXFORD, Ypsilanti; term expires December 31, 1881. Witter E. Baxter, Jonesville; term expires December 31, 1876. EDWARD DORSCH, Monroe; term expires December 31, 1878. The Super-

intendent of Public Instruction, Hon. D. B. Briggs, ex officio.

State Board of Auditors: The Secretary of State, the State Treasurer, and the Commissioner of the State Land Office, are, by the constitution, made a Board of Auditors to adjust all claims against the State.

## OFFICERS AND BOARDS CREATED BY THE LEGISLATURE.

Commissioner of Insurance: Samuel M. Row. Residence, Lansing.

Deputy Commissioner: Henry N. Lawrence. Residence, Lausing.
Commissioner of Railroads: Stephen S. Cobb. Residence, Kalamazoo.

Clark to the Commissioner of Railroads: Samuel F. Cook. Residence, Lansing.

State Librarian: Mrs. Harrier A. Tenney. Residence, Lansing.

State Salt Inspector: Samuel S. Garrigues. Residence, East Saginaw.

State Land and Road Board: The Governor, the Secretary of State, the State Treasurer, the Auditor General, the Commissioner of the Land office, the Attorney General.

State Neump Land Commissioner: Joseph B. Haviland. Residence, Traverse City. Clerk to the Commissioner: L. H. Briggs. Residence, Lansing.

<sup>\*</sup> Made elective by the constitution.