- An Executive Council, analogous to a ministry or cabinet, and conducting the business in accordance with the usual conventions.
- 3. A Legislature, composed in some provinces of two houses and in others of a House of Assembly alone. The legislators are elected for a period varying in different provinces and under different suffrages.
- 4. A Judiciary appointed by the Governor-General in Council and removable only by the Dominion Parliament.

The distribution of powers between the Dominion and Provincial authorities is clearly set forth in the British North America Act.

There is an important distinction between the Canadian Union and that of the United States.

In the United States the Central Government has only such powers as are definitely laid down in the Act of Union. The residuum of authority rests with each member of the confederacy and the pretext of the Great Rebellion was the establishment of the doctrine of States Rights.

When the Dominion of Canada was founded the provinces resigned every vestige of their authority into the hands of the Imperial Government, which in turn re-distributed it to the various elements making up the Confederation. This distribution is embodied in the Constitution and forever defines the status of each province.

The bond of union is strong, but at the same time comfortably loose. The central government regulates trade and commerce; the borrowing of money on public credit; the public debt and property; the postal, military and census