BILL.

An Act to amend the Act of the present Session, intituled: "An Act to amend and Consolidate the several Acts re-specting the Municipal Institutions of Upper Canada."

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legis-lative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:

1. The following sections and sub-sections of the Act passed in the present Session of the Parliament of this Province, intituled : "An Act 5 to amend and consolidate the several Acts respecting the Municipal Institutions of Upper Canada" are hereby repealed and the following sections and sub-sections shall be and are hereby substituted in lieu of the said sections and sub-sections hereby repealed, and shall be taken and read as the said sections and sub-sections of the said Act.

10 3.--- IN TOWNS.

The Council of every town shall consist of the Mayor, who shall bethe head thereof, and of two councillors for every ward, and if the town has not withdrawn from the jurisdiction of the council of the county in which it lies, then a Reeve shall be added, and if the town 15 had the names of five hundred freeholders and householders on the last revised assessment roll, then Deputy Reeve shall be added, and for every additional five hundred names of persons possessing the same property qualification as voters on such roll, there shall be elected an additional Deputy Reeve.

20

4.-IN INCOBPORATED VILLAGES.

The Council of every incorporated village shall consist of one Reeve, . who shall be the head thereof, and four Councillors, and if the village had the names of five hundred freeholders and householders on the last revised assessment roll, then of a Reeve, Deputy Reeve, and three Councillors, and for every additional five hundred names of per-25 sons possessing the same qualification as voters on such roll there shall be clected an additional Deputy Reeve instead of a Councillor.

5.—IN TOWNSHIPS.

The Council of every township shall consist of a Reeve, who shall be the head thereof, and four Councillors, and if the township had the 30 names of five hundred freeholders and householders on the last revised assessment roll, then the Council shall consist of a Reeve, Deputy Reeve, and three Councillors, and for every additional five hundred names of persons possessing the same property qualification as voters on such roll there shall be elected an additional Deputy Reeve

35 instead of a Councillor.

7. No Reeve or Deputy Reeve shall take his seat in the County