Government. To end violence on the picket line, you eliminate the cause of the violence, which is the use of scabs. There was no violence during the rotating strikes-

Some Hon. Members: Yes, there was.

Mr. Angus: —except when Canada Post started to bring replacement workers in.

We had a strike in Thunder Bay at the Great Lakes Forest Products plant. One thousand five hundred men and women went out on strike, but there was no violence because there were no replacement workers, no scabs. People there understand the system. The Government has to accept responsibility for the violence.

As to keeping the mail moving, I come back to my first point, that if the Government were serious about keeping the mail moving it would have instructed Canada Post that it was no longer bound by the corporate plan, a plan that will not increase service but will lead to a deterioration of service in the communities.

I hope tomorrow during the full debate I will be able to finish my comments.

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I regret to have to interrupt the Hon. Member.

As it is 5.26 p.m., the two hours provided for the study of the motion before the House are over, in accordance with Standing Order 117.

Consequently, in accordance with this Standing Order, it is my duty to interrupt the proceedings and to put all the questions necessary to dispose of this motion.

[English]

Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne)): All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne)): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne)): In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five Members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne)): Call in the Members.

## Time Allocation

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Lewis) which was agreed to on the following division:

(Division No. 279)

YEAS

Members

Bernier (Bonaventure—Îles-de- Blackburn la-Madeleine) Porter (Jonquière) Hamilton Price Bouchard Harvey Redway Brightwell Hicks Reid Cadieux Horner Reimer Caldwell Hudon Schellenberg (Champagne James (Nanaimo—Alberni) (Champlain) Jardine Schellenberger Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)	Andre	Gray	Pennock
Blackburn la-Madeleine) Porter (Jonquière) Hamilton Price Bouchard Harvey Redway Brightwell Hicks Reid Cadieux Horner Reimer Caldwell Hudon Schellenberg Champagne James (Nanaimo—Alberni) Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)	Bernier		
(Jonquière) Hamilton Price Bouchard Harvey Redway Brightwell Hicks Reid Cadieux Horner Reimer Caldwell Hudon Schellenberg Champagne James (Nanaimo—Alberni) C(Champlain) Jardine Schellenberger Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)	Blackburn		
Bouchard         Harvey         Redway           Brightwell         Hicks         Reid           Cadieux         Horner         Reimer           Caldwell         Hudon         Schellenberg           Champagne         James         (Nanaimo—Alberni)           (Champlain)         Jardine         Schellenberger           Clark         Jelinek         (Wetaskiwin)			
Brightwell Hicks Reid Cadieux Horner Reimer Caldwell Hudon Schellenberg Champagne James (Nanaimo—Alberni) (Champlain) Jardine Schellenberger Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)		***************************************	
Cadieux     Horner     Reimer       Caldwell     Hudon     Schellenberg       Champagne     James     (Nanaimo—Alberni)       (Champlain)     Jardine     Schellenberger       Clark     Jelinek     (Wetaskiwin)	Brightwell		
Caldwell Hudon Schellenberg Champagne James (Nanaimo—Alberni) (Champlain) Jardine Schellenberger Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)			
ChampagneJames(Nanaimo—Alberni)(Champlain)JardineSchellenbergerClarkJelinek(Wetaskiwin)	Caldwell		
(Champlain) Jardine Schellenberger Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)	Champagne		
Clark Jelinek (Wetaskiwin)			
	(Brandon-Souris)	Jepson	Shields
Clifford Johnson Sparrow			01110100
Coates (Bonavista—Trinity— Speyer	Coates		
Cochrane Conception) Stackhouse	Cochrane		
Cooper Jones Stevens	Cooper		
Crofton Kelleher Suluk			
Crosbie Leblanc Tardif	Crosbie	1101101101	
(St. John's West) Lewis (Charlesbourg)	(St. John's West)		
Crosby Lopez Taylor			
(Halifax West) MacDougall Thacker			
Crouse (Timiskaming) Towers			
Darling MacKay Tremblay	Darling		
de Cotret Malone (Québec-Est)			
Della Noce Mantha Turner	Della Noce		
Desjardins Marin (Ottawa—Carleton)	Desiardins	Marin	
Edwards Mayer Van De Walle			
Epp Mazankowski Vincent	Epp		
(Provencher) McCuish Weiner			
Fennell McDermid White			
Ferland McKenzie Wilson	Ferland		Wilson
Fontaine McMillan (Etobicoke	Fontaine	McMillan	(Etobicoke
Fraleigh Merrithew Centre)	Fraleigh		
Gervais Nicholson Witer—87		1.1411111111111111111111111111111111111	
Graham (Niagara Falls)	Graham		
Nowlan			

NAYS

Members

Althouse	Grav	McDonald
Angus	(Windsor West)	(Broadview-
Axworthy	Grondin	Greenwood)
Benjamin	Guilbault	McLaughlin
Blackburn	(Saint-Jacques)	Mitchell
(Brant)	Harris	Murphy
Blaikie	Henderson	Nystrom
Boudria	Hopkins	Ouellet
Caccia	Isabelle	Parry
Copps	Keeper	Penner
Dewar	Langdon	Rodriguez
Dingwall	Lapierre	Skelly
Finestone	MacLellan	Toupin
Foster	Manly	Waddell
Fulton	Marchi	Young-41
Gauthier		

Paproski

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion carried.