- Verdun (ver'dun): A town of France in department of Meuse, 28 miles north of Bar-la-Duc on the Meuse.
- Vishegrad (vish'eh-gräd): A small town of Bosnia on the River Drina, 40 miles east south-east of Sarajevo.
- Vosges (vozh): A department of north-east France formed of the south part of the old Province of Lorraine.
- Venice: A fortified seaport of Italy; capital of the Province of its own name situated in the Lagume, a shallow bay of the Adriatic.
- Valjevo, Valyevo (val-yā'vo): A town in the north-west part of Servia 45 miles south-west of Belgrade.
- Vilna: A city of Russia, capital of government of same name, 225 miles north-cast of Warsaw.
- Vranya (vranja): A town of Servia, 43 miles east of Pristina near southern extermity of the kingdom.
- Varna (vär'nā): A town of Bulgaria on the west shore of the Black Sea.

W

- Walfisch Bay: A harbour on the south-west coast of Africa about latitude 22 52' south.
- Warsaw: A city of Russian Poland, capital of government of its own name, 625 miles from St. Petersburg and 320 miles east of Berlin.
- Whitby: (Unfortified). A seaport of England. North Riding of Yorkshire.
- West Hartlepool: (Unfortified). A seaport and municipal borough of England, 19 miles east south-east of Durham.
- Warmbad (värm'bät): A mission station of Great Namaqualand, German South Africa. 130 miles east by north of the Orange River.
- Windhock: A settlement of Cape Colony, South Africa, 10 miles from Ookup.
- Woevre (vyevr): The region between the headwaters of the Meuse and the Moselle rivers.