(2) THE PARISH BOUNDARIES.

The Act of 1786, which confirmed the county boundaries, also divided those counties into towns or parishes. The original parishes were thirty-four in number, distributed as shown on the accompanying map No. 35. Since 1786 one hundred and ten have been added, making at present (1901) one hundred and forty-four, distributed as shown on the frontispiece map. As in the case of the counties, the parish boundaries are to be traced through the statutes of the province from 1786 to the present, and like them, they are codified, and as well extensively altered by the Acts of 1854 and 1896.

In general the same broad principles determining the distribution of the counties have controlled also that of the parishes, with the difference that actual settlement has had in proportion to topography a somewhat larger influence in fixing the limits of the parishes than of the counties. The effort has been to make a parish include a settlement, or natural group of settlements, and hence the lines have been made to run on the least settled ground and to interfere as little as possible with existent land grants. The latter end has been most easily and successfully attained by the simple device of using land grant lines as the parish boundaries, and the great majority of our parish boundaries are thus formed in whole or in part. Since the grant lines are determined more or less by topography (as at right angles to the rivers, etc.), so indirectly in this way are the parish lines affected by topography. This has moreover the additional advantage that the parish lines are thus already run and marked out, at least in their more important parts in lands already settled, though such lines are often extended by law far into wilderness lands, (in order to include all of the province in parishes), in which case they are not run and marked. In fact, so far as I know, no parish lines have ever been specially run out and marked as such. From the first the parishes have always been laid out within certain counties, none of them lying in two counties except temporarily during changes in county lines, and hence county lines are also parish boundaries, although originally

¹ In actual practice the word parish only is used for these divisions in New Brunswick, town having in this sense only an official use, and being restricted in practice to the eight incorporated towns. It is the English custom to use parish and the American to use town, and the fact that New Brunswick uses parish while most of the other Canadian provinces use town or township is due no doubt, as Mr. George Johnson has pointed out (Place-names of Canada, Ottawa, 1897) to the strong English sympathies of New Brunswick, resulting from the strong Loyalist element in her population. In many respects New Brunswick is the most English of the Canadian Provinces.