Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Yes.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the said motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my view the nays have it.

Some hon. Members: Oh, oh!

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Turner) which was agreed to on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken Alexander Allmand Badanai Barnett Barrett Basford Béchard Bell Blair Blouin Borrie Boulanger Breau Brewin Broadbent Buchanan Caccia Cadieux (Labelle) Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Cullen Deachman Drury Duquet Forest

Foster

Gendron

Gervais

Gibson

Gilbert

Gleave

Gray Greene Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Haidasz Harding Hees Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Kaplan Kierans Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre)

Lachance

Laing (Vancouver South) Langlois

La Salle LeBlanc (Rimouski)

Lefebvre Legault Lessard

(Lac-Saint-Jean) MacDonald (Egmont) Macdonald (Rosedale)

MacEachen MacGuigan MacInnis (Mrs.) Macquarrie

Canada Grain Act

McIlraith Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Morison Murphy Noël O'Connell Olson Orange Osler

Quellet

Penner

Pepin Pilon Reid Richardson Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Stafford Tolmie Trudeau Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Wahn Walker Whiting-89.

NAYS

Messrs:

Baldwin Cadieu (Meadow Lake) Caouette Carter Comeau Crouse Diefenbaker Dionne Flemming Gauthier Godin Hales Harkness Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Lambert (Bellechasse) Laprise Lundrigan MacEwan

MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacLean MacRae

• (8:30 p.m.)

McCleave McGrath McIntosh Mahoney Mazankowski Monteith Muir (Cape Breton-The Sydneys) Muir (Lisgar) Nesbitt Noble Nowlan Paproski Peters Ritchie Rodrigue Saltsman Schumacher Scott

Southam Stewart (Marquette) St. Pierre Tétrault Woolliams-45.

Bill read the third time and passed.

• (8:40 p.m.)

CANADA GRAIN ACT

ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMISSION, PROVISIONS RESPECTING GRADING, LICENCES, ELEVATORS, ETC.

Hon. H. A. Olson (Minister of Agriculture) moved that Bill C-196, respecting grain, be read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Agriculture.

He said: Mr. Speaker, the bill before us is a very significant piece of legislation providing for an updating and revision of the longstanding Canada Grain Act. This act is a key instrument in achieving an orderly and effective grain marketing and handling system in Canada, providing as it does for quality standards and quality control and for standards and procedures for the handling, transportation and storage of Canada's grain crops.