

## DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES



N°: 100

DIFFUSION: FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE RELEASE: JUNE 22, 1982

Appointments to the Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre (IDRC)

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mark MacGuigan, announced today the appointment of three new members to the Board of Governors of the International Development Research Centre. The re-appointment of two Governors was also announced.

The new Governors are Gordon Osbaldeston of Ottawa, Rolland P. Poirier of Ste-Foy, Quebec and Yelavarthy Nayudamma of New Delhi, India. The Governors re-appointed are Gelia J. Castillo of Los Banos, Philippines and Carl-Goran Heden of Stockholm, Sweden.

The International Development Research Centre is a public corporation created by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to enhance the research competence of scientists in the developing countries. It does so through support of research designed to adapt science and technology to the needs of the developing countries. The Act of Parliament establishing the Centre provided for a Board of Governors of 21 persons, to be appointed by the Government of Canada. Eleven of the Governors, including the Chairman, must be Canadian citizens. It has been the consistent practice to draw the other Governors internationally from persons, many of them in developing countries, who have made notable contributions in the field of development.

Brief biographic notes on the appointees follow:

Dr. Yelawarthy Nayudamma (India) a chemist, is Vice-Chancellor of the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, and formerly "Distinguished Scientist" of the Central Leather Research

.../2