CSCE<sup>1</sup>, on 19 November 1990, the same day as the signing of the CFE Treaty. The Vienna Document came into force on 1 January 1991. It is intended to build on the Stockholm Document and consequently restates its provisions. The new or improved measures included in the Vienna Document include:

- annual exchanges of military information, including information on command organization, air force troop and major weapon system numbers in Europe for air, air defence, land and naval forces permanently stationed on land as well as information on military budgets;
- the ability to request explanations within forty-eight hours about unusual or unscheduled military activity, and hazardous incidents;
- evaluation visits to check the accuracy of information provided in required information exchanges. (For further information see *The Guide 1991*).

A review of CSBM implementation is required by the Vienna Document. The first review took place from 11 to 13 November 1991 in Vienna under the auspices of the CSCE Conflict Prevention Centre (CPC). Questions relating to implementation were clarified and there was a discussion of the role of CSBMs in the CSCE framework. On 4 March 1992, states reached agreement on Vienna Document 1992 which enlarged the membership of the negotiations to include former republics of the Soviet Union, incorporated new information exchanges and other CSBMs and included new constraints on military exercises. The Document entered into force on 1 May 1992.

From March to July, CSCE members undertook a comprehensive review of the negotiations on conventional forces in Europe. This resulted in the creation of a Forum for Security Cooperation (FSC). Further negotiations on reductions of conventional forces and confidence-building measures will occur under this forum which is to be an integral part of the CSCE structure.

## CURRENT CANADIAN POSITION

Canada has traditionally been a strong supporter of negotiations on conventional armed forces in Europe and as a signatory to the CFE Treaty has called for states to ratify the treaty as quickly as possible.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The members include: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, the Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, San Marino, the Soviet Union, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and Yugoslavia.