Bourgault

• (1550)

Then I went on to deal with that point. My situation at that time was that whatever I may have felt personally about the situation, I felt that I had to follow the rules that we have. If the House, which it has not done, were at some point to grant to the Speaker-any speaker-the power to judge the reasonableness of the use of this rule then I would have no hesitation in doing so. I hope I would do it on the basis of common sense on the circumstances.

Also I think I would reach back to over 20 years in this place and apply some of my experience in that manner. I have to advise the House that the rule is clear. It is within the government's discretion to use it. I cannot find any lawful way that I can exercise a discretion which would unilaterally break a very specific rule.

I have listened to this debate. I have listened to the hon. member for Winnipeg Transcona and others. For very real reasons it is a matter that should have been discussed in the House today. This is especially because the hon, member for Winnipeg Transcona was one of the active and very helpful members of the reform committee that was set up consisting of all parties some years ago and has taken a great interest in the reform of our rules.

I have to say, with I hope some sympathy and I hope some understanding from the House, that I feel I am not in a lawful position to unilaterally exercise a discretion in the face of the rule that is in front of us.

Therefore I have put the motion and I must ask the House.

ALLOCATION OF TIME TO CONSIDER SECOND READING STAGE OF BILL C-115

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon. members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon, members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion, which was agreed to on the following division:

Government Orders (Division No. 454)

YEAS

Members

Andre Anderson Attewell Atkinson Belsher Beatty Biornson Bertrand Blais Blackburn (Jonquière) Bouchard (Roberval) Blenkarn Brightwell

Cadieux Browes Champagne (Champlain) Chadwick Chartrand Clark (Brandon-Souris)

Clifford Cole Corbeil Cooper Côté Corbett

Crosbie (St. John's West) Couture

Crosby (Halifax West) DeBlois Darling Della Noce de Cotret Dick Desjardins Dorin Dobbie Duplessis Fee Feltham Ferland Friesen Fontaine

Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-de-la-Madeleine) Gibeau

Gustafson

Hawkes

Hogue

Horner Hudon

Jacques

Johnson

Kempling

Langlois

Paproski

Valcourt

Greene Halliday Hockin Holtmann Horning Hughes James Jourdenais Landry

Layton Larrivée Littlechild Lewis Lopez Loiselle MacKay MacDonald (Rosedale) Martin (Lincoln) Marin McCreath Mayer McDermid McKnight Merrithew McLean Monteith Moore Oberle Nicholson

Plourde Porter Redway Pronovost Reimer Reid Robitaille Ricard Saint-Julien Roy-Arcelin Shields Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Sobeski Siddon Soetens Stevenson Thacker Tardif

Tremblay (Québec-Est) Thompson

Tremblay (Lotbinière) Van De Walle Vankoughnet Vien Vincent Wilhee Weiner Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia) Winegard Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

Worthy-118

O'Kurley