THE SENATE

SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON MANPOWER AND EMPLOYMENT

EVIDENCE

OTTAWA, Thursday, February 16, 1961.

The Special Committee of the Senate appointed to study and report upon the trends of manpower and employment, met this day at 9.30 a.m.

Hon. Léon Méthot in the chair.

The CHAIRMAN: Gentlemen, we have a quorum, so we shall proceed. This morning we have with us representatives of the Canadian Manufacturers' Association, and I understand that Mr. Ian F. McRae, the past president, is going to deliver a brief. Therefore, at this time I would ask him to introduce those who are accompanying him.

Mr. IAN F. McRAE, Past President, Canadian Manufacturers' Association: Mr. Chairman, may I suggest that the president of the association introduce the delegation?

The CHAIRMAN: Very well.

Mr. T. R. McLagan, President, Canadian Manufacturers' Association: Mr. Chairman, we have great pleasure in coming here, and we have given great thought to the problems which have arisen through the terms of reference to your committee. We hope we will be of some real help in solving these problems. I would like to introduce my associates of the Canadian Manufacturers' Association, so that you will know who they are. There is Mr. Ian F. McRae, the past president of the association.

Senator ROEBUCK: Would you mind giving their cities?

Senator CROLL: Or their designation?

Mr. McLagan: Mr. McRae is from Toronto; the Canadian General Electric Company Limited. Mr. S. J. Randall, the second vice-president, from Toronto, is from General Steel Wares Limited. Mr. Hugh Crombie, a past president, from Montreal, is from the Dominion Engineering Works Ltd. Mr. Ira G. Needles, chairman of the Tariff Committee, is from Kitchener, and is past chairman of the B. F. Goodrich Canada Ltd. Mr. T. H. Robinson, chairman of the Industrial Relations Committee, is from Montreal, and from the Canadian International Paper Company. Mr. Humphrey Style, who is chairman of the Commercial Intelligence Committee in Toronto, is with the John Inglis Company, Ltd. Mr. H. Malcolm Smith, the chairman of the Publishing Committee, is from Toronto, and is with the Smith Manufacturing Company, Ltd. Mr. Carl A. Pollock is chairman of the Ontario Division, comes from Kitchener, and the Dominion Electrohome Industries Ltd. Mr. W. Hugh Flynn, the chairman of the Taxation Committee is from Canadian Industries Limited, Toronto.

Also present are the members of the permanent staff of the Canadian Manufacturers' Association: Mr. J. C. Whitelaw, Mr. E. G. Reburn, Mr. C. Willis George, Mr. D. H. Frechette, Mr. H. S. Shurtleff, Mr. R. Lang, Mr.

E. R. Barrett and Mr. H D. Potter.