MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

WEDNESDAY, June 18, 1958.

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Colonization met at 9.40 a.m. this day for organization purposes.

Members present: Messrs. Argue, Campbell (Lambton-Kent) Doucett, Dubois, Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke), Gour, Grills, Henderson, Hicks, Horner (Acadia), Howe, Jorgenson, Kennedy, Kindt, Knowles, Latour, Létourneau, McBain, Milligan, Montgomery, Morissette, Nasserden, Peters, Rapp, Robinson, Rompré, Southam, Speakman, Stanton, Thomas, Thompson, Thrasher, Tucker, Winkler, and Yacula. (35)

On the motion of Mr. Campbell (Lambton-Kent), seconded by Mr. Howe, Mr. Stanton was elected chairman.

Mr. Stanton took the Chair and thanked members of the Committee for the honour given him, mentioning at the same time the importance of the Committee's work.

On the motion of Mr. McBain, seconded by Mr. Horner (Acadia), Mr. Jorgenson was elected Vice-chairman.

On the motion of Mr. Horner (Acadia), seconded by Mr. Tucker,

Resolved,—That a recommendation be made to the House to reduce the quorum from 20 members to 15 members.

On the motion of Mr. Speakman, seconded by Mr. Robinson,

Resolved,— That the Committee be empowered to print such papers and evidence as may be ordered by the Committee, and that Standing Order 66 be suspended in relation thereto.

On the motion of Mr. Campbell (Lambton-Kent), seconded by Mr. Henderson,

Resolved,—That a Sub-committee on Agenda and Procedure, comprising the Chairman and 6 members to be named by him, be appointed.

At 9.55 a.m. the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

TUESDAY, July 22, 1958 (2)

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Colonization met at 9.05 a.m. this day. The Chairman, Mr. Hayden Stanton, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Barrington, Boivin, Boulanger, Brunsden, Campbell (Lambton-Kent), Doucett, Dubois, Forbes, Grills, Hales, Henderson, Hicks, Horner (Acadia), Jorgenson, Gundlock, Knowles, Latour, Létourneau, Milligan, Montgomery, Morissette, Muir (Lisgar), Nasserden, Noble, Rapp, Ricard, Robinson, Southam, Speakman, Stanton, Thomas, Thompson, Tucker, Villeneuve, Winkler, and Yacula. (36)