Division

in this direction during the question period, because we are not part of the Liberal rump.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I will cast both eyes in the direction of the hon. member tomorrow.

TRANSPORT AND COMMUNICATIONS

REQUEST FOR DEBATE ON FIFTH REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE

Mr. James A. McGrath (St. John's East): Mr. Speaker, on a point of order may I direct a question to the government house leader in connection with the business of the house. He did not announce in the business for the balance of the session before the summer recess whether or not the government intended to bring forward legislation to deal with the Maritime Freight Rates Act, but will he bring forward for debate the fifth report of the Standing Committee on Transport and Communications?

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. This is not a point of order. The hon. member might have asked that question during the question period. I regret that I did not have an opportunity to call on him but I will do so tomorrow.

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

CRIMINAL CODE

REPORT STAGE

The house resumed, from Wednesday, May 7, consideration of Bill C-150, to amend the Criminal Code, the Parole Act, the Penitentiary Act, the Prisons and Reformatories Act and to make certain consequential amendments to the Combines Investigation Act, the Customs Tariff and the National Defence Act, as reported (with amendments) from the Standing Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs, and motion No. 38, Mr. Rodrigue.

Mr. Speaker: The house will now proceed to the deferred divisions on proposed amendments Nos. 33 and 35. The question is on motion No. 33 (Mr. Laprise):

That Bill C-150, an act to amend the Criminal Code, the Parole Act, the Penitentiary Act, the Prisons and Reformatories Act and to make certain consequential amendments to the Combines Investigation Act, the Customs Tariff and the National Defence Act, be amended by deleting in clause 18 the word "female" on lines 28 and 29 on page 42 and the word "female" on lines 3 and 23 on page 43 and the word "female" on line 39 on page 44.

Division

The house divided on motion No. 33 (Mr. Laprise) which was negatived on the following division:

@ (3:00 p.m.)

YEAS

Messrs:

Beaudoin Caouette Dionne Dumont Fortin Gauthier

Laprise

Aiken

Allmand

Anderson

Asselin

Basford

Béchard

Benjamin

Beer

Bigg

Blair

Blouin

Borrie

Breau

Brewin

Brown

Burton

Caccia

Cafik

Cantin

Carter

Code

Chrétien

Clermont

Comeau

Crouse

Cullen

Danforth

Deachman

Diefenbaker

Islands)

Downey

Drury

Emard

Forest

Forget Forrestall

Dubé

Douglas (Nanaimo-

Cowichan-The

Danson

Deakon

De Bané

Dinsdale

Davis

Cyr

Broadbent

Buchanan

Cadieux (Labelle)

Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil)

Bell

La Salle Latulippe Matte Rodrigue Rondeau Tétrault—13.

NAYS

Messrs:

Foster Gervais Gibson Gilbert Gillespie Gleave Goode Gray Guay

(St. Boniface)
Guay (Lévis)
Guilbault
Gundlock
Haidasz
Hales
Harding
Harkness
Hees
Hellyer
Hogarth
Honey
Hopkins

Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Howard (Skeena) Howe

Howe Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Kierans

Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Laflamme Laing

Lambert (Edmonton West)

Lang Laniel

Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski)

Lefebvre Legault

Lessard (LaSalle)

Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean)

Lewis
Lind
Loiselle
Lundrigan

MacDonald (Egmont)
Macdonald (Rosedale)

MacEachen MacGuigan