1865 and the International Radio Telegraph Convention of 1906. The members of these two bodies met simultaneously at Madrid in 1932 and concluded a single International Telecommunication Convention regulating telegraph, telephone and radio services. This Convention established the ITU which was later organized in its present form by the Atlantic City Convention of October 2, 1947. Canada was a party to the 1906 convention signed at Berlin and has been a member of this organization and its successor ever since. The purpose of the ITU is to maintain and extend international co-operation for the improvement and rational use of telecommunications of all kinds and to promote the development and efficient operation of technical facilities.

The supreme authority of the ITU is the Plenipotentiary Conference which normally meets once every five years. The next conference will be held in Geneva in October, 1959. Between conferences the affairs of the Union are managed by the Administrative Council which meets annually. Canada has been one of the 18 member countries on the Council since it was established in 1947. Subordinate to the Council are the Secretariat and three permanent technical organs — the International Frequency Registration Board (IFRB) at Geneva, and two International Consultative Committees, on Telegraph and Telephone (CCITT) and Radio (CCIR) which usually meet every three years.

The Administrative Council met in April and May 1958 and the CCITT held a special Plenary Assembly which was followed in September by a Telegraph and Telephone conference. Canada signed the revised Telegraph Regulations drafted at this conference. The next meeting of the CCIR will be in Los Angeles in April 1959.

These and other meetings have permitted the Union to continue its programme for allocating international telecommunications frequencies in preparation for the Plenipotentiary Conference in 1959. Participation in the Expanded Programme of Technical Assistance (ETAP) also increased during 1958.

World Meteorological Organization

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) with Headquarters in Geneva developed from the International Meteorological Organization, a voluntary association of international weather services founded in 1878. The convention which established WMO came into force on March 23, 1950 and the Organization became a Specialized Agency of the United Nations on December 20, 1951. The purposes of the organization are to facilitate cooperation among meteorological services; to promote the establishment and maintenance of telecommunication systems for the rapid exchange of weather information; to promote standardization of meteorological observations and to ensure the uniform publication of observations and statistics; to further the application of meteorology in various fields including aviation, shipping and agriculture, and to encourage and assist in co-ordinating the international aspects of research and training in meteorology.

These activities are implemented by a Congress, the supreme organ of the WMO on which the Director of Meteorological Services of each of the 72 member states is represented. The Congress normally meets every four