THE DOMINION ILLUSTRATED MONTHLY.



SECRETARY-TREASURER LYNDHURST OGDEN.

success twenty-seven years ago, under the auspices of Colonel Jenyns, and the officers of the 13th Hussars-had fallen into decadence, hurtful to the country and disappointing to a large number of respectable people who have at heart the improvement of our breed of horses, and the furtherance of honest sport as a principal means to that end. Racing in some shape or form will always be carried on where the English language is spoken, and, if this be the case, all are alike interested in securing its freedom from base and defrauding influences. A Limited Liability Association called the Ontario Jockey Club was formed with a capital of \$20,000 in \$100 shares, to be called in as required, this amply sufficing for the purposes of the Club. Colonel Gzowski, the first President of the Club, on being presented with the stock book, generously subscribed his name to \$500 worth of stock.

The first board of Directors consisted of Colonel Gzowski, Messrs. W. Hendrie, T. C. Patteson, J. H. Mead, Wm. Muloch, D. Campbell, John White, A. Smith, J. D. Morrison, H. Q. St. George, C. Brown, W. Christie, J. Cosgrave, S. G. Ramsay, W. A. Dickson, Dr. Morton, J. G. Dickson, Sheriff Mercer, Dr. Strange, J. Riordon, D. Morrow, Peterboro'; N. Kingsmill, and an Executive Committee of three was chosen from the directors consisting of Messrs. T. C. Patteson, A. Sheriff, and J. H. Mead. On 16th and 17th September,

1881, the first meeting under control of the Ontario Jockey Club was held at Woodbine Park and was a complete success in every way, both from a social and sporting point of view, despite the threatening weather. There were present the Lieut.-Governor and Mrs. Robinson, Mrs. A. S. Hardy, Mrs. Briggs of Kingston, Col. Gzowski, the Hon. Messrs. Pardee, Wood, Fraser and Hardy, Mr. and Mrs. Hendrie, Miss Hendrie, and Miss Hone (Hamilton), Mr. St. George, Mr. Christopher Robinson, Mr. Shanly, Mr. Duncan Campbell, Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin, Mr. Dawes, Montreal, Judge Kingsmill, Judge Sinclair, Mr. and Mrs. N. Kingsmill, Major Draper, Mr. A. G. Ramsay, Montreal, Alderman Walker, Mr. Yarker, Mr. and Mrs. Torrance, Mr. Riordan, Mr. Bunting, M.P., Mrs. S. Macdonald, Mr. Esdaile, Montreal, Sheriff Mercer, Chatham, Doctor Strange, Dr. Kennedy, Mr. Sutherland, M.P., Mr., Mrs. and Miss McFarlane, Mr. and Mrs. Galt, and others. A copy of the first day's "correct card" is appended-the officials being, President, Lt.-Col. Gzowski; Executive Committee, T. C. Patteson, A. Smith, J. H. Mead; Sec.-Treas. Lyndhurst Ogden; Judges, W. Hendrie, J. White, W. A. Dickson; Starters, J. Stauton, J. M. McFarlane; Clerks of Scales, C. T. Mead, T. W. Jones; Clerk of Course, J. Duggan; Assistant Clerk of Course, O. B. Sheppard; Timers, W. Christie, C. Brown ; Distance Judge, Duncan Campbell.



SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT MR. T. C. PATTESON,