Constitution and By-Laws of the McGill Applied Science Society.

Note.—The constitution of the above-named Society is included in our Annual Report because the original suggestion for the formation of such a society came from the Applied Science Graduates' Society, and it is thought desirable that the graduates should know the organization under which the students propose to conduct their meetings. To harmonize with the present aims and activities of the Graduates' Society, this Constitution will require some minor modifications. It is believed that hereafter the membership of the two societies will be sufficient to justify the publication by them jointly of the papers read before them and of some of the engineering research work done in the laboratories. Publications of this character are now issued by nearly all the great universities on this continent, and it is much to be hoped that an arrangement can be made by which the work done in and around their Alma Mater can be placed at the disposal of the graduates of McGill without other expense to them than their subscription to the Graduates' Society.

ART. I.

This Society shall be called the McGill Applied Science Society.

ART. II.—OBJECTS.

I. Uniting in one body those who desire to advance scientific research.

II. The preservation of the results of such original research, III. The cultivation of a spirit of mutual assistance among

its members while undergraduates.

IV. To retain a knowledge of the whereabouts of all members after graduation, and thus form a tie connecting them more closely with the University.

V. And, finally, to cultivate a confidence in one's opinions by friendly criticism and discussion of all matters brought up for debate.

ART. III .- OFFICERS.

I. The officers shall consist of:—An Honorary President, a President and three Vice-Presidents elected from the Fourth Year and representing the four divisions, namely, Mining and Chemistry, Civil and Architecture, Mechanical, Electrical; a Secretary and a Treasurer elected from the Third Year.

II. An Executive Committee shall be elected consisting of the President, Vice-Presidents, Secretary and Treasurer, and also two members from the Second Year and one member from the First

Year.