Messrs:

Portelance Pringle Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon Roy (Laval) Serré Smith

Serite
Smith
(NorthumberlandMiramichi)
Smith (Saint-Jean)
Stafford
Stambury

Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Trudeau Trudel

Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Wahn Walker

Wahn
Walker
Watson
Weatherhead
Whelan
Whiting—97.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost. The question is now on the main motion.

The House divided on the main motion (Mrs. MacInnis) which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 23)

YEAS

Messrs:

Lundrigan

Alkenbrack Barnett Bell Benjamin Broadbent Burton Cadieu Crouse Danforth Douglas Fairweather Flemming Forrestall Gilbert Gleave Grills Harding Horner Howard (Skeena)

Howard (Skeena)
Knight
Knowles (Winnipeg
North Centre)
Knowles (NorfolkHaldimand)
Lambert
(Edmonton West)

(Edmo

MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) MacInnis (Mrs.) MacKay Macquarrie McCleave McGrath Marshall Mather Matte Mazankowski Nystrom Orlikow Peddle Peters Rose Rowland Ryan Schumacher Stanfield Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson

(Battleford-Kindersley)

NAYS Messrs:

Andras Badanai Barrett Basford Beaudoin Béchard Benson Blair Borrie Boulanger Breau Buchanan

Woolliams

Yewchuk-49.

Division

Messrs:

Caccia L'Heureux Cafik Macdonald (Rosedale) Caquette MacEachen Chappell MacGuigan Clermont Mackasev Cobbe McBride Comtois Mahoney Corbin Marceau Corriveau Marchand Cullen (Langelier) Cvr Marchand Danson (Kamloops-Cariboo) Davis

Munro Deachman Olson De Bané Otto Drury Quellet Dubé Pelletier Dupras Penner Éthier Pepin Forget Portelance Francis Pringle Gendron Reid Gibson Richardson Gillespie Roberts Goode Robinson Goyer Rochon Roy (Laval) Serré Groos Guay (St. Boniface)

Guilbault Smith
Haidasz (NorthumberlandHopkins Miramichi)
Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Stafford

Smith (NorthumberlandMiramichi)
Smith (NorthumberlandMiramichi)
Stafford

(Okanagan Boundary) Stafford
Hymmen Stanbury
Isabelle Stewart
Jerome (Okanagan-Kootenay)

Kaplan Thomas
Lachance (MaisonneuveLaing Rosemont)
(Vancouver South) Trudeau
Lajoie Trudel

Lajoie Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois

Laniel Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Legault Lessard (LaSalle)

(LaSalle) Whiting—99.

• (2210)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost. Before leaving the chair I think it is my duty to remind hon. members that it is long established practice for hon. members to come into the chamber wearing a jacket, shirt and tie. I am not prepared to encourage hon. members to depart from that practice. I would seek their co-operation in this respect.

Wahn

Walker

Watson

Whelan

Weatherhead

Turner (Ottawa-Carleton)

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mr. MacInnis: On that point, Mr. Speaker, I would think it appropriate to mention that all members on this side of the House are properly dressed, and the bad example is being set by government members.

At 10.19 p.m. the House adjourned, without question put, pursuant to Standing Order.