Fulton

Motions for Papers

Mr. Speaker: Does the hon. member wish to proceed with the motion, in view of what the minister has said, or is he prepared to drop it?

Mr. McIlraith: No; I would ask that the motion be put.

Mr. Speaker: Those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: Those against it please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Argue

Lessard

Aiken

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

(And more than five members having risen:)

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. McIlraith) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Loiselle

Macnaughton Badanai Batten McIlraith Benidickson McMillan Boulanger Martin (Essex East) Cardin Martin (Timmins) Carter Meunier Denis Mitchell Deschatelets Pearson Peters Dumas Eudes Pickersgill Pitman Fisher Forgie Racine Garland Ratelle Granger Richard (Ottawa East) Habel Roberge Herridge Robichaud Howard Tardif LaMarsh, Miss Tucker Leduc Winch-41.

NAYS

Messrs:

Chambers

Allmark Charlton Anderson Chown Coates Asselin Balcer Comtois Barrington Cooper Baskin Creaghan Beech Crouse Bell (Carleton) Danforth Bell (Saint John-Albert) Deschambault Belzile Diefenbaker Best Dinsdale Bigg Dorion Bissonnette Doucett Broome Drysdale Browne (St. John's West) English Browne (Vancouver-Fairclough, Mrs. Kingsway) Bruchesi

Kingsway) Fairfield
Bruchesi Fane
Brunsden Fleming (Eglinton)
Campbell (Lambton-Kent) Forbes
90205-6—290

Grafftey Grills Gundlock Hales Halpenny Hamilton (Notre Dame de Grace) Hamilton (Qu'Appelle) Hanbidge Harkness Hees Henderson Hicks Hodgson Horner (Acadia) Howe Jones Jorgenson Kennedy Kindt Knowles Korchinski Kucherepa Lahaye Lambert Latour Lennard Macdonnell MacEwan MacInnis MacLean (Queens) Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McFarlane McGee McGrath McIntosh McLennan McPhillips McQuillan Mandziuk Martel Martineau Martini Matthews Monteith (Perth) Monteith (Verdun) Montgomery More Morris Morton

Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Muir (Lisgar) Murphy Nielsen Noble Nowlan O'Hurley O'Leary Pallett Parizeau Pascoe Paul Pavne Phillips Pigeon Pratt Rapp Regnier Ricard Richard (Kamouraska) Robinson Rogers Rompre Rowe Rynard Sevigny Simpson Skoreyko Small Smallwood Smith (Calgary South) Smith (Lincoln) Smith (Simcoe North) Southam Spencer Starr Stearns Stefanson Stewart Stinson Thompson Thrasher Tremblay Valade Villeneuve Vivian Walker Webb Weichel White Winkler

GRAIN SALE TO CHINA-AGREEMENT

Wratten-146.

Motion No. 119-Mr. McIlraith:

For a copy of the long term agreement signed by the Canadian wheat board and the China resources company covering the period June 1, 1961, to December 1963.

Hon. Alvin Hamilton (Minister of Agriculture): Mr. Speaker, as with the last motion, I must point out that never in the past have commercial contracts of the Canadian wheat board been made public, in the interests of keeping information from our competitors. I should like to point out that at the present time Australia is competing for markets in China.

Mr. Speaker: Order. The minister may either accept or reject the motion, but he is not entitled to debate it. In view of the explanation, does the hon. member wish to proceed?